UKC Forums UKC Website :: Hunting Ops :: All-Breed Sports :: Registration :: UKC Online Store
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Registration is free! Calendar Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Home  
UKC Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.3.0 UKC Forums > Departments > UKC Coonhounds > a little help?!
  Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
jaredaward
UKC Forum Member

a little help?!

Not sure if this is the right place to post questions as I'm new to the site. Anyways im new to coon hounds as well. I bought a 20 month old walker a week ago and ran him in the woods a few times. He will bark on track and it seems like he tracks it for awhile then quits and he will come back to me. Last night as soon as he started barking I got close enough I could see him to make sure he was actually barking on track. I also watched him check a few trees. He stopped at a couple den trees and showed lots of interest but never barked. He has yet to locate though. My question is what should I do next to get him to locate and tree by himself. The guy I bought him from said he would tree with other dogs but he never hunted him alone. Thanks

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-11-2014 01:58 AM
jaredaward is offline Click Here to See the Profile for jaredaward Click here to Send jaredaward a Private Message Click Here to Email jaredaward Find more posts by jaredaward Add jaredaward to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Sauk Talking
UKC Forum Member

Patients and Just keep taking him out,, won't be too long now and the kittens will be around,, he'll get experience and find some easy coon soon enough,

Old Post 04-11-2014 04:24 AM