UKC Forums UKC Front Page :: Field Operations :: Show Operations :: Registration :: UKC Store
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Registration is free! Calendar Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Home  
UKC Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.3.0 UKC Forums > Departments > UKC Coonhounds > Garmin Tip of the Day
Pages (17): « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » ... Last »   Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Bruce M. Conkey
Guest

Registered: Not Yet
Location:
Posts: N/A

.

Contact garmin at 1800-800-1020 they can replace it.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 08-26-2015 11:26 PM
Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Bruce M. Conkey
Guest

Registered: Not Yet
Location:
Posts: N/A

.

Contact garmin at 1800-800-1020 they can replace it.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 08-26-2015 11:26 PM
Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
spookyhollowduk
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Feb 2013
Location: indiana
Posts: 280

I know this is possible cause I've done it before but some how my 320 got re set. But I cant remember how to get it to show the distance of the dogs while your looking at birds eye view map?

__________________
Justin fennig

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 08-27-2015 01:31 AM
spookyhollowduk is offline Click Here to See the Profile for spookyhollowduk Click here to Send spookyhollowduk a Private Message Click Here to Email spookyhollowduk Find more posts by spookyhollowduk Add spookyhollowduk to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Bruce M. Conkey
Guest

Registered: Not Yet
Location:
Posts: N/A

.

Select map
Menu
Dog setup
Show dog distance

Think that will get it if not let me know and I will play with one and figure it out.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 08-27-2015 02:44 AM
Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
spookyhollowduk
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Feb 2013
Location: indiana
Posts: 280

Thank u!

__________________
Justin fennig

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 08-27-2015 03:15 AM
spookyhollowduk is offline Click Here to See the Profile for spookyhollowduk Click here to Send spookyhollowduk a Private Message Click Here to Email spookyhollowduk Find more posts by spookyhollowduk Add spookyhollowduk to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
BooneMcCrary
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Feb 2014
Location: EAST TN
Posts: 170

Ok Bruce, I have an Astro 320 and I use 5 DC40 collars, just recently one of the collars froze, it would show the dog not moving, and at the same place, yet it didn't show a question mark where it had lost signal???? I know the dog was not standing still also lol on the same hunt, one of my other collars would track the dog, and show where it was, but if you went to the dogs info, it showed the dog had traveled a distance of 0.....also it would lose communication alot as well.......on 4 out of the 5 DC40 collars has the orange long range antennas, the one collar has a stock antenna....all 5 have problems losing signal alot, is there a way to fix this???

Basically my questions were:
(1) What's wrong with the collar freezing and not moving but still showing connected?

(2) What's wrong with the collar that works, but when you go to info, it shows the distance traveled as Zero?

(3) Is there a way to make my DC40's have better range, and less dropped signals?

Thanks

__________________
"If you ain't first, your Last!"

GrNiteCh CLEAR TIMBER CLASSY SASSY

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 08-27-2015 10:32 AM
BooneMcCrary is offline Click Here to See the Profile for BooneMcCrary Click here to Send BooneMcCrary a Private Message Click Here to Email BooneMcCrary Find more posts by BooneMcCrary Add BooneMcCrary to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Bruce M. Conkey
Guest

Registered: Not Yet
Location:
Posts: N/A

.

There are a lot of reasons why all of this can be happening but there are only a few things you can do and sounds like most have been done.

First of all the collars communicate with the handheld through the VHF or long antenna on the collar and whatever antenna you have on the handheld. Hopefully when you put the long antennas on the collars you also added a longer antenna to the handheld. If not that is like increasing the horsepower in your car 200 hp and keeping the same weak transmission and expecting performance out of it.

What wasn't mentioned is if your running other tracking collars or shocking collars on the dogs also. How you put them on the dog affects things.

Here is all you can do. Check and clean the antenna connection on each collar. I would expect the black original one is broken inside close to the base. Update each collar. You could also go as far as taking the battery housing apart and seeing if there is any corrosion on board and cleaning with electronic contact cleaner. The DC 40 have been good for a lot of people but many experienced the same thing you are and weren't very happy with them.

Couple other things that can affect them is the Light some coonhunters use, or the connection on the handheld.
I have seen a lot of DC 40 go through what you are experiencing and then the cleaning and new antennas give them new life but the processor can't handle it and they go completely dead. Won't turn on and won't charge.
You can get them replace through garmin using their repair program and you can find the updated pricing on their website. Call 1800-800-1020

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 08-27-2015 01:13 PM
Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
BooneMcCrary
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Feb 2014
Location: EAST TN
Posts: 170

You were correct on the factory antenna, it was broke close to the base, but you couldn't tell because of the rubber cover.......I have a long antenna on my garmin as well, It's always been on there.....Thanks Bruce, oh yea, I was also running telemetry tracking collars as well......like always wile bear hunting.....The long antenna on my garmin handheld has the little tip gone off of it, but I wouldn't expect that to hurt anything???....Thanks Bruce

__________________
"If you ain't first, your Last!"

GrNiteCh CLEAR TIMBER CLASSY SASSY

Last edited by BooneMcCrary on 08-27-2015 at 01:41 PM

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 08-27-2015 01:38 PM
BooneMcCrary is offline Click Here to See the Profile for BooneMcCrary Click here to Send BooneMcCrary a Private Message Click Here to Email BooneMcCrary Find more posts by BooneMcCrary Add BooneMcCrary to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Dustin Wilson
UKC Forum Member

Registered: May 2009
Location: IA-MO State Line
Posts: 55

I am subscribed to birdseye imagery, it takes a while to download anything. Is there preloaded sd cards with birdseye on them or is downloading through garmin basecamp the only option?

__________________
Wilson's Grand Slam Kennels
641-203-2763

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 08-27-2015 01:45 PM
Dustin Wilson is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Dustin Wilson Click here to Send Dustin Wilson a Private Message Click Here to Email Dustin Wilson Find more posts by Dustin Wilson Add Dustin Wilson to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Bruce M. Conkey
Guest

Registered: Not Yet
Location:
Posts: N/A

.

Mr Boone
Tip won't matter. I always put the garmin collar closer to the dogs head. If you put it on first and then the other collar over it you sandwich it between the telemetry collar and dogs body and it tends to block the GPS signal that comes from the end of the collar.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 08-27-2015 05:00 PM
Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Bruce M. Conkey
Guest

Registered: Not Yet
Location:
Posts: N/A

.

They have preloaded cards for certain states. Right now they are only western states. Avoid downloading cities and it works a lot better.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 08-27-2015 05:01 PM
Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
ruttinbuck
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Oct 2014
Location: mi
Posts: 167

garmin

Bruce can you post a picture of the new mini's
next to the standard ones ? Also have you heard
when they will be available ?
Thanks

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 08-27-2015 05:56 PM
ruttinbuck is offline Click Here to See the Profile for ruttinbuck Click here to Send ruttinbuck a Private Message Click Here to Email ruttinbuck Find more posts by ruttinbuck Add ruttinbuck to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Dustin Wilson
UKC Forum Member

Registered: May 2009
Location: IA-MO State Line
Posts: 55

10-4 thanks for the info

__________________
Wilson's Grand Slam Kennels
641-203-2763

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 08-27-2015 05:58 PM
Dustin Wilson is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Dustin Wilson Click here to Send Dustin Wilson a Private Message Click Here to Email Dustin Wilson Find more posts by Dustin Wilson Add Dustin Wilson to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Bruce M. Conkey
Guest

Registered: Not Yet
Location:
Posts: N/A

.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 08-27-2015 07:05 PM
Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
ruttinbuck
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Oct 2014
Location: mi
Posts: 167

Garmin

Thanks Bruce
What did they do to downsize them ?
What is the battery life compared the normal size?

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 08-27-2015 11:21 PM
ruttinbuck is offline Click Here to See the Profile for ruttinbuck Click here to Send ruttinbuck a Private Message Click Here to Email ruttinbuck Find more posts by ruttinbuck Add ruttinbuck to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Richard Lambert
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Aug 2004
Location: Chattanooga, Tn
Posts: 17295

Bruce, why don't you give us some tips on how to "use" your Garmin during a hunt to gain some sort of advantage like some of these people think that everyone is doing? When I first read the Topic of this thread, I thought that was what it was going to do.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 08-28-2015 12:44 AM
Richard Lambert is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Richard Lambert Click here to Send Richard Lambert a Private Message Click Here to Email Richard Lambert Find more posts by Richard Lambert Add Richard Lambert to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
sleepy head
UKC Forum Member

Registered: May 2015
Location: IN
Posts: 1933

quote:
Originally posted by Richard Lambert
Bruce, why don't you give us some tips on how to "use" your Garmin during a hunt to gain some sort of advantage like some of these people think that everyone is doing? When I first read the Topic of this thread, I thought that was what it was going to do.


Richard I have to admit, this is funny

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 08-28-2015 01:05 AM
sleepy head is offline Click Here to See the Profile for sleepy head Click here to Send sleepy head a Private Message Find more posts by sleepy head Add sleepy head to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Bruce M. Conkey
Guest

Registered: Not Yet
Location:
Posts: N/A

.

A judge with a Garmin has an advantage over the rest of the cast.

I would love to see stats on the percentage of cast won by judges before and after Garmin.

Last edited by on 08-28-2015 at 01:40 AM

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 08-28-2015 01:36 AM
Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Bruce M. Conkey
Guest

Registered: Not Yet
Location:
Posts: N/A

.

You can send it back to Garmin for replacement. 1800-800-1020
You can try taking the battery housing apart and see if there is any moisture inside and cleaning the electronic board with contact cleaner.

Updating the collar is something that Garmin will recommend.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 08-31-2015 02:57 PM
Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
BooneMcCrary
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Feb 2014
Location: EAST TN
Posts: 170

My DC-40 still tracks and shows distance, however, it freezes up alot, and still shows the collar connected......If you go to the info page for the dog, it shows distance traveled as 0, and average speed as 0... any ideas?

__________________
"If you ain't first, your Last!"

GrNiteCh CLEAR TIMBER CLASSY SASSY

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 08-31-2015 03:53 PM
BooneMcCrary is offline Click Here to See the Profile for BooneMcCrary Click here to Send BooneMcCrary a Private Message Click Here to Email BooneMcCrary Find more posts by BooneMcCrary Add BooneMcCrary to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Wes D.
UKC Forum Member

Registered: May 2012
Location: va
Posts: 208

Where is a guy to find replacement screws for a dc50. Thanks

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 08-31-2015 03:58 PM
Wes D. is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Wes D. Click here to Send Wes D. a Private Message Find more posts by Wes D. Add Wes D. to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Bruce M. Conkey
Guest

Registered: Not Yet
Location:
Posts: N/A

.

Wes after you called I thought of something. Ace Hardware carries a lot of these screws. If you had one the same size as the one your lost or messed up they may have it.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 08-31-2015 04:00 PM
Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Wes D.
UKC Forum Member

Registered: May 2012
Location: va
Posts: 208

Thanks bruce i will see what they have. I dont know how 2 scews a 1/2'' long backed out without seeing them.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 08-31-2015 04:05 PM
Wes D. is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Wes D. Click here to Send Wes D. a Private Message Find more posts by Wes D. Add Wes D. to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
jculler8
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Sep 2007
Location: Western Pa
Posts: 3375

DC-50 and Astro 320.

Can't get my bark detector to pick up and either of my 2 50's.

Any ideas???

Thanks in advance!

__________________
OAKS POINT KENNELS

HOME OF

PKC CH GRNITECH GRCH 'PR' OAKS POINT COON BUSTIN' BELLE HTX 2013 UKC Top 100 (May 2006-January 2017)

'PR' OAKS POINT STRIKE-EM OUT BEAU (May 2006-June 2016)

PKC CH NITECH GRCH 'PR' COON BUSTIN' WHITE STUFF

CH 'PR' GOLD RUSH EXPO

'PR' BLACK KNIGHT'S BALU JETTA (May 2013-October 2015)

CH 'PR' CHERRY CREEK XBOX 2016 Treeing Walker Days King of Show

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 08-31-2015 11:17 PM
jculler8 is offline Click Here to See the Profile for jculler8 Click here to Send jculler8 a Private Message Click Here to Email jculler8 Visit jculler8's homepage! Find more posts by jculler8 Add jculler8 to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
jculler8
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Sep 2007
Location: Western Pa
Posts: 3375

DC-50 and Astro 320.

Can't get my bark detector to pick up on either of my 2 50's.

Any ideas???

Thanks in advance!

__________________
OAKS POINT KENNELS

HOME OF

PKC CH GRNITECH GRCH 'PR' OAKS POINT COON BUSTIN' BELLE HTX 2013 UKC Top 100 (May 2006-January 2017)

'PR' OAKS POINT STRIKE-EM OUT BEAU (May 2006-June 2016)

PKC CH NITECH GRCH 'PR' COON BUSTIN' WHITE STUFF

CH 'PR' GOLD RUSH EXPO

'PR' BLACK KNIGHT'S BALU JETTA (May 2013-October 2015)

CH 'PR' CHERRY CREEK XBOX 2016 Treeing Walker Days King of Show

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 08-31-2015 11:17 PM
jculler8 is offline Click Here to See the Profile for jculler8 Click here to Send jculler8 a Private Message Click Here to Email jculler8 Visit jculler8's homepage! Find more posts by jculler8 Add jculler8 to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 10:15 AM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Pages (17): « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » ... Last »   Last Thread   Next Thread
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this Thread


Forum Jump:
 

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 
< Contact Us - The United Kennel Club >

Copyright 2003-2017, United Kennel Club
Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.0
(vBulletin courtesy Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.)