UKC Forums UKC Website :: Hunting Ops :: All-Breed Sports :: Registration :: UKC Online Store
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Registration is free! Calendar Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Home  
UKC Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.3.0 UKC Forums > Departments > UKC Coonhounds > Garmin Tip of the Day
Pages (17): « First ... « 4 5 [6] 7 8 » ... Last »   Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Bruce M. Conkey
Guest

Registered: Not Yet
Location:
Posts: N/A

.

Try changing your color setup of your astro. There are several different color patterns. You also have a day and night mode. Play around with them and see what is best for you.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 12-23-2015 07:30 PM
Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Pete T
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Dec 2003
Location: Southern IN
Posts: 196

BRUCE HAD BIRDSEYE LOADED ON MY ALPHA WAS WORKING GREAT THEN IT DISSAPPEARED I CHECKED THE CHIP AND STILL NOTHING ANY IDEAS

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 12-23-2015 09:51 PM
Pete T is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Pete T Click here to Send Pete T a Private Message Click Here to Email Pete T Find more posts by Pete T Add Pete T to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Bruce M. Conkey
Guest

Registered: Not Yet
Location:
Posts: N/A

.

Select map then menu then restore defaults and see if it comes back

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 12-24-2015 01:56 AM
Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
hillbilly56
UKC Forum Member

Registered: May 2007
Location: fairmont wv
Posts: 11690

last 2 times i ben out ive had to recalabrate my 320 handheld the dog is out in frt of you it shows the dog behind you is there a reson it is getting outa whack

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 12-24-2015 02:34 AM
hillbilly56 is offline Click Here to See the Profile for hillbilly56 Click here to Send hillbilly56 a Private Message Click Here to Email hillbilly56 Find more posts by hillbilly56 Add hillbilly56 to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Bruce M. Conkey
Guest

Registered: Not Yet
Location:
Posts: N/A

.

I think in the instruction book somewhere it mentions temperatures change have an effect on the compass. I know during the winter that are more questions on this subject. Just not sure if it is the weather or just more people using them during the winter.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 12-24-2015 12:15 PM
Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
hillbilly56
UKC Forum Member

Registered: May 2007
Location: fairmont wv
Posts: 11690

thanks bruce hasssn't been much of a temp change been really warm talkin to a young boy this moronin he said if im carrying my lead with the chain part across my chest that wil intefere with it but the other nite i had the nylon part in frt still did it

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 12-24-2015 03:24 PM
hillbilly56 is offline Click Here to See the Profile for hillbilly56 Click here to Send hillbilly56 a Private Message Click Here to Email hillbilly56 Find more posts by hillbilly56 Add hillbilly56 to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Bruce M. Conkey
Guest

Registered: Not Yet
Location:
Posts: N/A

.

Also if you use a folding antenna and fold it down over the side that at times has an effect on them. Especially the long black on.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 12-24-2015 03:42 PM
Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
hillbilly56
UKC Forum Member

Registered: May 2007
Location: fairmont wv
Posts: 11690

Re: .

quote:
Originally posted by Bruce M. Conkey
Also if you use a folding antenna and fold it down over the side that at times has an effect on them. Especially the long black on.
i use the short attena i also have a longer 1 pice antenna but have never try it im just know gettin where im able to earase the old tracks have only use it about 5 times so far these new gadets are hard for this ole man ta get use to lol

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 12-24-2015 04:15 PM
hillbilly56 is offline Click Here to See the Profile for hillbilly56 Click here to Send hillbilly56 a Private Message Click Here to Email hillbilly56 Find more posts by hillbilly56 Add hillbilly56 to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Bruce M. Conkey
Guest

Registered: Not Yet
Location:
Posts: N/A

.

Watch your dog from the map page and I think you will be a lot happier. Merry Christmas!

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 12-24-2015 04:45 PM
Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
hillbilly56
UKC Forum Member

Registered: May 2007
Location: fairmont wv
Posts: 11690

Re: .

quote:
Originally posted by Bruce M. Conkey
Watch your dog from the map page and I think you will be a lot happier. Merry Christmas!
thanks bruce merry christmas to you and your family also

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 12-24-2015 04:47 PM
hillbilly56 is offline Click Here to See the Profile for hillbilly56 Click here to Send hillbilly56 a Private Message Click Here to Email hillbilly56 Find more posts by hillbilly56 Add hillbilly56 to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
sleepy head
UKC Forum Member

Registered: May 2015
Location: IN
Posts: 2421

My 320 updates every 5 sec, I thought it was every 3 sec before, can't find how to change it, is there a way? Thanks

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 01-07-2016 06:05 PM
sleepy head is offline Click Here to See the Profile for sleepy head Click here to Send sleepy head a Private Message Find more posts by sleepy head Add sleepy head to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
spookyhollowduk
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Feb 2013
Location: indiana
Posts: 280

When I mark my truck on my Astros 320 it won't mark it on the map. It use to have a little truck picture there now nothing. Is there anyway I can fix that which is no big deal but last night I was in a new woods and got turned around and walked the wrong direction just cause I couldn't mark the truck

__________________
Justin fennig

Last edited by spookyhollowduk on 01-08-2016 at 12:35 PM

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 01-08-2016 02:22 AM
spookyhollowduk is offline Click Here to See the Profile for spookyhollowduk Click here to Send spookyhollowduk a Private Message Click Here to Email spookyhollowduk Find more posts by spookyhollowduk Add spookyhollowduk to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Bruce M. Conkey
Guest

Registered: Not Yet
Location:
Posts: N/A

.

Older collars were all 5 seconds. Newer ones go down to 2.5 seconds

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 01-08-2016 12:26 PM
Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Pete T
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Dec 2003
Location: Southern IN
Posts: 196

BRUCE I HAVE A SOLID LINE THAT GOES ACROSS MY ALPHA HOW DO I GET RID OF IT KINDA LIKE A LINE OF SIGHT LINE

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 01-08-2016 03:40 PM
Pete T is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Pete T Click here to Send Pete T a Private Message Click Here to Email Pete T Find more posts by Pete T Add Pete T to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Bruce M. Conkey
Guest

Registered: Not Yet
Location:
Posts: N/A

.

Gi into waypoints and see if perhaps you have them all used up. Also try start new hunt then say mark truck yes. See what that does it

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 01-08-2016 03:48 PM
Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
sleepy head
UKC Forum Member

Registered: May 2015
Location: IN
Posts: 2421

Re: .

quote:
Originally posted by Bruce M. Conkey
Older collars were all 5 seconds. Newer ones go down to 2.5 seconds


Thanks Bruce, I'm running 50s

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 01-08-2016 03:52 PM
sleepy head is offline Click Here to See the Profile for sleepy head Click here to Send sleepy head a Private Message Find more posts by sleepy head Add sleepy head to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
LOUIEH5
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Jan 2009
Location: Va.
Posts: 105

quote:
Originally posted by Pete T
BRUCE I HAVE A SOLID LINE THAT GOES ACROSS MY ALPHA HOW DO I GET RID OF IT KINDA LIKE A LINE OF SIGHT LINE
GO to waypoint manager & delete GO-TO

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 01-08-2016 06:01 PM
LOUIEH5 is offline Click Here to See the Profile for LOUIEH5 Click here to Send LOUIEH5 a Private Message Find more posts by LOUIEH5 Add LOUIEH5 to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
spookyhollowduk
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Feb 2013
Location: indiana
Posts: 280

Still doesn't want to mark my truck. I better get better at reading the stars.

__________________
Justin fennig

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 01-08-2016 08:41 PM
spookyhollowduk is offline Click Here to See the Profile for spookyhollowduk Click here to Send spookyhollowduk a Private Message Click Here to Email spookyhollowduk Find more posts by spookyhollowduk Add spookyhollowduk to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Trevor Lattimer
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Jan 2015
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 192

astro 220

I think yall are going to tell me to buy another collar.... but, we bought two referbished dc30 collars, we updated both them and my astro, but one one collar picks up and the other loses connection after about 15 yards. any suggestions?

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 01-08-2016 10:36 PM
Trevor Lattimer is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Trevor Lattimer Click here to Send Trevor Lattimer a Private Message Find more posts by Trevor Lattimer Add Trevor Lattimer to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
hopm
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Nov 2005
Location:
Posts: 587

collar antenna caused mine to lose signal short distance
replaced and no problem since

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 01-08-2016 11:23 PM
hopm is offline Click Here to See the Profile for hopm Click here to Send hopm a Private Message Find more posts by hopm Add hopm to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Trevor Lattimer
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Jan 2015
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 192

quote:
Originally posted by hopm
collar antenna caused mine to lose signal short distance
replaced and no problem since



thanks! ill see what it does..

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 01-08-2016 11:58 PM
Trevor Lattimer is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Trevor Lattimer Click here to Send Trevor Lattimer a Private Message Find more posts by Trevor Lattimer Add Trevor Lattimer to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Bruce M. Conkey
Guest

Registered: Not Yet
Location:
Posts: N/A

.

Even if it doesn't mark your truck you should lay a track wherever you walk just like a dogs track. Just follow it back. Do a master reset and things should change for you.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 01-09-2016 12:18 PM
Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
spookyhollowduk
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Feb 2013
Location: indiana
Posts: 280

Master reset?

__________________
Justin fennig

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 01-09-2016 12:36 PM
spookyhollowduk is offline Click Here to See the Profile for spookyhollowduk Click here to Send spookyhollowduk a Private Message Click Here to Email spookyhollowduk Find more posts by spookyhollowduk Add spookyhollowduk to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
moonedzx9
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Aug 2011
Location: Central, Indiana
Posts: 86

I went to a hunt last night and marked the truck how do I see the distance I walked? I can see the distance my dog traveled.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 01-23-2016 07:24 PM
moonedzx9 is offline Click Here to See the Profile for moonedzx9 Click here to Send moonedzx9 a Private Message Find more posts by moonedzx9 Add moonedzx9 to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Bruce M. Conkey
Guest

Registered: Not Yet
Location:
Posts: N/A

.

You can see the distance your dog traveled from the dog information page.
S far as truck distance it is easier to see that distance when you are there
How to do it later depends on if you have an alpha or Astro and what points are still on your Astro

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 01-23-2016 10:06 PM
Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 07:41 AM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Pages (17): « First ... « 4 5 [6] 7 8 » ... Last »   Last Thread   Next Thread
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this Thread


Forum Jump:
 

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 
< Contact Us - United Kennel Club >

Copyright 2003-2020, United Kennel Club
Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.0
(vBulletin courtesy Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.)