msinc
Banned
Registered: Oct 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2633 |
"advisor page 21-22
Next Available?
Q: We have a big debate going on in West Virginia regarding the scoring of “next available position”. Basically, the question is this. In a three-dog cast, Dogs A, B and C are declared struck. Dogs A and B are declared treed and scored. Dog C is trailing, and Dogs A and B are turned in. When Dogs A and B are struck back in with C, will they be assigned 50 strike points or 25? Those arguing in favor of 50 points claim that you can’t have a fourth position in a three-dog cast. They claim that in a two-dog cast, 75 is the lowest point value that can be carried. What do you think? West Virginia
A: I think that, without doubt, someone who is the least bit convincing in their ability to discuss rule interpretations while out on a cast could probably pull this one off on occasion. But the truth is, the point schedule laid out in the Nite Hunt Honor Rules makes no reference to the claim that you only use as many strike positions as you have dogs in the cast. Excluding the one-dog cast, it’s quite possible to use all point values in any other cast. Let’s use the two-dog cast as an example.
Dogs A and B are struck for 100 (for dog that opens first) and 75 (for dog that opens second). Dog A is treed and scored and turned into Dog B. When he opens, Dog A gets the next available strike position, which is 50. Remember, you only have one set of strike points, and this is the third time a dog has been struck on this set of strike points. If Dog B is scored and turned back in, when he strikes it will be the fourth time a dog has been struck in on this set of points and he will go in for 25 because 50 is being held.
Keep in mind that if Dog A is holding 100 strike and Dog B is scored on a second strike/first tree coon, that Dog B will be turned back in for 75 because it is available again. Rule historians will remember way back when the old rules used to say, “Once a position has been minused, it becomes available again.” That was really an interpretation problem.
About ten years ago that rule was changed to read, “Once a position has been scored, it becomes available again.” Just thought I would throw that little tidbit at you in case you ever get asked that in a game of Trivial Pursuit!"
Here is the interpretation from "The Advisor". Runnin rebel was kind enough to type it out {or scan it} Thank you for that. Please read the third paragraph, especially note the part about the "one set of strike points." This was taken from a UKC publication. Why does the dog go back in for only 50 points??? In the fourth paragraph it explains that that dog in that scenario goes back in for 75 because the other dogs track and tree was scored.
Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged
|