Allen / UKC
Administrator
Registered: Nov 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 9267 |
The answer to the scenario is found under Rule 11 (d) Recasting.
See asterisk portion below.
Once a position has been scored it becomes available again. A dog declared struck after the recast, receives the next available
strike position.
*A dog cannot be struck in over a position that is being held except when a dog holds his strike position for one hour.*
In that case, all strike positions will be open to other dogs. The
strike position previously held by dog(s) on leash is
not available until dog is recast. Multiple dogs may
occupy fourth strike position.
Answer: In the scenario given, Dog B treed a coon, was recast and made a second tree. At the time when B was recast the second time, Dog A had been holding that first strike position (100) for over an hour. Therefore, in accordance with Rule 11(d), Dog B gets 100 on strike when he struck in after that second recast.
When this happens, a question that often comes up is; what happens to Dog A, who held that position for an hour? The answer is; nothing happens to Dog A. He still keeps that original 100 strike with no penalty or otherwise. In this unique situation you have multiple dogs now holding 100 on strike points.
If you were one of those that said 100; you would be correct.
Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged
|