UKC Forums UKC Website :: Hunting Ops :: All-Breed Sports :: Registration :: UKC Online Store
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Registration is free! Calendar Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Home  
UKC Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.3.0 UKC Forums > Departments > UKC Coonhounds > A question most seem to get wrong.
Pages (3): « 1 [2] 3 »   Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
john Duemmer
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Mar 2008
Location: Western N.Y.
Posts: 4005

He strikes for a quarter, the other 3 are considered treed until they are recast. In order to strike for 100 all dogs must be loose and competing for strike. Far as i know there is only one set of strike points in any situation unless all dogs are competing. The only exception would be a dog holding strike for 1 hour (2c).
I think (2a) still covers it, he is the 4th dog to strike. SIMPLE.
Personally i like it, looking at 150 points while everyone else is stuck draggin their dog on the lead. Lol.

__________________
Everything that makes them a COONDOG is on the inside

Last edited by john Duemmer on 02-28-2014 at 01:41 AM

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-28-2014 01:14 AM
john Duemmer is offline Click Here to See the Profile for john Duemmer Click here to Send john Duemmer a Private Message Click Here to Email john Duemmer Find more posts by john Duemmer Add john Duemmer to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Dogwhisper
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 1745

2014 rule 2c is an arguing point as to why not 100. Last part of sentence.
In this case previous points were SCORED!
Hmmmmmm.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-28-2014 01:45 AM
Dogwhisper is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Dogwhisper Click here to Send Dogwhisper a Private Message Find more posts by Dogwhisper Add Dogwhisper to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
john Duemmer
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Mar 2008
Location: Western N.Y.
Posts: 4005

quote:
Originally posted by Dogwhisper
2014 rule 2c is an arguing point as to why not 100. Last part of sentence.
In this case previous points were SCORED!
Hmmmmmm.



I only referenced 2c as the only example of when a dog could receive 100 strike without the entire cast being released together.

__________________
Everything that makes them a COONDOG is on the inside

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-28-2014 01:53 AM
john Duemmer is offline Click Here to See the Profile for john Duemmer Click here to Send john Duemmer a Private Message Click Here to Email john Duemmer Find more posts by john Duemmer Add john Duemmer to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Dogwhisper
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 1745

Yea I understand , but looking at and reading these new "streamline" set of rules could be confusing .Especially for a beginner.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-28-2014 02:07 AM
Dogwhisper is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Dogwhisper Click here to Send Dogwhisper a Private Message Find more posts by Dogwhisper Add Dogwhisper to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Plott55
Banned

Registered: Mar 2011
Location: Georgia
Posts: 217

25 points

The way i see it===4 dogs are cast== 3 dogs open for 1st,2nd and 3rd strike===4th strike is open=struck dogs tree and tree is closed, but 4th strike is still open== the tree is checked, scored and closed and the 3 dogs are led off on lease. Dog D finally barks and gets the 4th strike which had been open since 4 dog were first cut loose.

If the 3 dogs had been cut loose, it would have established a new scoring but they were still on lease when the 4th dog struck so he/she got the 4th place strike.

__________________
Robert G.Jones

Last edited by Plott55 on 02-28-2014 at 02:46 PM

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-28-2014 02:41 AM
Plott55 is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Plott55 Click here to Send Plott55 a Private Message Click Here to Email Plott55 Find more posts by Plott55 Add Plott55 to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
sscace
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Jul 2003
Location: arena,wi
Posts: 91

scoreing

doesnt look like any beginners on here only rule benders

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-28-2014 02:41 AM
sscace is offline Click Here to See the Profile for sscace Click here to Send sscace a Private Message Click Here to Email sscace Find more posts by sscace Add sscace to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Gabe Webb
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Mar 2005
Location: Buchanan,Georgia
Posts: 193

Answer

A B and C had their tree scored and then they were leash locked because dog D is struck and treed b4 they could be released to dog D. Strike points are 100. The next available position is not 25.

__________________
Proud Member of The BLUE DOG MAFIA.
NITECH 'PR' ROCKY FALLS BLUE GEORGIA KATE(Qualified for 2013 & 2015 World Hunt) CHOPPIN AXE X HIGH PERFORMANCE LUCY

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-28-2014 02:55 AM
Gabe Webb is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Gabe Webb Click here to Send Gabe Webb a Private Message Click Here to Email Gabe Webb Find more posts by Gabe Webb Add Gabe Webb to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
center12
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Nov 2013
Location: Kansas
Posts: 345

quote:
Originally posted by JiM
Nah, that don't do it because the only remaining points are 25 because that tree is not considered "scored" until the dogs are recast.


Jim, here is the the tail end of 11b that I was referencing:

Upon being
scored, dog(s) must be turned loose with other dogs that are opening on trail
to compete for next available strike points. However, if dog(s) are already
treed, handlers have the option to hold onto or release dog(s) so long as at
least one dog is not declared treed.

OP said dogs A, B, and C had been scored on tree when D was struck and treed. I'm very new at this, but sounds like D just went for 225. Since D is already treed the other cast members may not even turn loose to him.

__________________
Charlie

Last edited by center12 on 02-28-2014 at 08:25 AM

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-28-2014 07:48 AM
center12 is offline Click Here to See the Profile for center12 Click here to Send center12 a Private Message Click Here to Email center12 Find more posts by center12 Add center12 to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
SHORN
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Feb 2009
Location: wi
Posts: 165

rule 11b however if dog D is declared treed handlers have the option to or release their dog so long as 1 dog is not declared treed. (OR DOES THIS RULE IMPLY SINCE NO DOG IS STILL ON STRIKE THAT THEY CAN'T BE TURNED LOOSE) with this rule some of you guys are saying that if dogs a,b,c were released they too would only get 25? I think D gets 100

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-28-2014 01:38 PM
SHORN is offline Click Here to See the Profile for SHORN Click here to Send SHORN a Private Message Find more posts by SHORN Add SHORN to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
GA DAWG
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Jun 2003
Location: North GA
Posts: 14395

Ok. Tell us.

__________________
Michael Ghorley

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-28-2014 02:15 PM
GA DAWG is offline Click Here to See the Profile for GA DAWG Click here to Send GA DAWG a Private Message Click Here to Email GA DAWG Find more posts by GA DAWG Add GA DAWG to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
kenney Clark
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Jul 2009
Location: carrollton,Ohio
Posts: 716

A b and c. Cannot be turned lose to dog d cause no other dog is carrying strike. This is no different if say dog d was struck while the other 3 were treeing. Its last strike 25 points. And 100 strike points will not be awarded because all dogs have to be loose and competing for strike points. After dog d was struck and treed you lead the others dogs to the tree and score it..
There is only one set of strike points. If dog d was struck and not treed other dogs get turned loose and when struck will be for 25 as well.

__________________
Home of..

RIP - GR.NT.CH. , PKC CH. AKC NT.CH. SPIDERMAN SAM.


Contact Kenney Clark - 330-738-3019 CELL- 330-205 3299

Last edited by kenney Clark on 02-28-2014 at 02:34 PM

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-28-2014 02:20 PM
kenney Clark is offline Click Here to See the Profile for kenney Clark Click here to Send kenney Clark a Private Message Find more posts by kenney Clark Add kenney Clark to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
RRILEY
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Canton, Ga
Posts: 847

Guys this isn't a hard one to get right. All dogs have to be able to compete to open up a new set of strike points. Dog D strikes for a quarter and the rest of the dogs are leash locked and headed to score him. Now if was me handling dog D depending on how ABC's tree was scored, I would've let them cut theirs loose first so I could get struck in for 100.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-28-2014 07:09 PM
RRILEY is offline Click Here to See the Profile for RRILEY Click here to Send RRILEY a Private Message Click Here to Email RRILEY Find more posts by RRILEY Add RRILEY to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
center12
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Nov 2013
Location: Kansas
Posts: 345

I'm ready for the answer!!!

__________________
Charlie

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-28-2014 07:23 PM
center12 is offline Click Here to See the Profile for center12 Click here to Send center12 a Private Message Click Here to Email center12 Find more posts by center12 Add center12 to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Tim Trone
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Apr 2008
Location: havana florida
Posts: 1092

quote:
Originally posted by RRILEY
Guys this isn't a hard one to get right. All dogs have to be able to compete to open up a new set of strike points. Dog D strikes for a quarter and the rest of the dogs are leash locked and headed to score him. Now if was me handling dog D depending on how ABC's tree was scored, I would've let them cut theirs loose first so I could get struck in for 100.


25 is the answer, all dogs must be able to compete. The dog was steady barking so he couldnt have waited. .

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-28-2014 07:29 PM
Tim Trone is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Tim Trone Click here to Send Tim Trone a Private Message Find more posts by Tim Trone Add Tim Trone to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
center12
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Nov 2013
Location: Kansas
Posts: 345

Tim, I'm new to this and trying hard to understand all these scenarios, so I have a question. Where does it say all dogs have to be able to compete? I was reading 2D and at the bottom it states:

"Once a position has been scored it becomes available again."

In your scenario, dogs had been scored before d opened and was struck.

This stuff is confusing while sitting in the recliner, I'll get crushed at a hunt!!!

__________________
Charlie

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-28-2014 07:54 PM
center12 is offline Click Here to See the Profile for center12 Click here to Send center12 a Private Message Click Here to Email center12 Find more posts by center12 Add center12 to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
RRILEY
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Canton, Ga
Posts: 847

quote:
Originally posted by Tim Trone
25 is the answer, all dogs must be able to compete. The dog was steady barking so he couldnt have waited. .


A judge can't demand a call while walking the dogs their min as you can't effectively judge while walking. When the mins up the cast will have to cut loose on dog D's first bark, hence you strike D in on the 2nd or 3rd and their you go, you have your first strike.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-28-2014 08:16 PM
RRILEY is offline Click Here to See the Profile for RRILEY Click here to Send RRILEY a Private Message Click Here to Email RRILEY Find more posts by RRILEY Add RRILEY to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Rocketman55
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Aug 2008
Location: SE Ohio, Glouster
Posts: 2244

Take a deep breath RRiley, UKC doesn't require a 1 minute walk away from a scored tree. You now are confusing another registry, with the rules of UKC.

25 is, was, and always will be, the correct answer, so long as the rules remain written the way they currently are.

Good Scenario Tim, It sure is easy to see how confusion and confrontation seem to meet head on in a competition hunt, LOL

Good Hunting to all!!

__________________
Phone-740-767-2572
Dave Mayles
11210 Davis Road
Glouster, Ohio 45732
Home To:
Gr.Nt.Ch. Hooper Ridge Hang'em High Holly
Gr.Nt.Ch. Hooper Ridge Rockets Top Gun.
Gr.Nt.Ch.Hooper Ridge Rocket
Gr.Nt.Ch Hooper Ridge Dolly
Nt.Ch Hooper Ridge Queen
Nt.Ch Raw Dawg Rowdy
PR Tree Banging Buddy
HOOPER RIDGE ENGLISH-POUND FOR POUND THEY ARE ONE TOUGH HOUND!!!!

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-28-2014 08:25 PM
Rocketman55 is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Rocketman55 Click here to Send Rocketman55 a Private Message Click Here to Email Rocketman55 Find more posts by Rocketman55 Add Rocketman55 to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
john Duemmer
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Mar 2008
Location: Western N.Y.
Posts: 4005

Heres a twist for you guys.... Dog Ds handler is not required to strike his dog until the 3rd bark, and A,B, and C are supposed to be cast at the first bark, which would give Ds handler the option to leashlock the cast or strike for 100.

Heres the ? We know that a dog that hasnt been struck cannot break the 8.... SO does a dog that hasnt been struck but opens a couple times require the rest of the cast to cutem?

__________________
Everything that makes them a COONDOG is on the inside

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-28-2014 08:41 PM
john Duemmer is offline Click Here to See the Profile for john Duemmer Click here to Send john Duemmer a Private Message Click Here to Email john Duemmer Find more posts by john Duemmer Add john Duemmer to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Dogwhisper
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 1745

quote:
Originally posted by center12
Tim, I'm new to this and trying hard to understand all these scenarios, so I have a question. Where does it say all dogs have to be able to compete? I was reading 2D and at the bottom it states:

"Once a position has been scored it becomes available again."

In your scenario, dogs had been scored before d opened and was struck.

This stuff is confusing while sitting in the recliner, I'll get crushed at a hunt!!!



You have to go back to 2013 rules (2a). Y it was negelected in the 2014 rules only UKC knows.

But this beginner has proven my point as to how confusing it can be to a beginner.

Hang in there center12 it will get worst before it gets better.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-28-2014 08:50 PM
Dogwhisper is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Dogwhisper Click here to Send Dogwhisper a Private Message Find more posts by Dogwhisper Add Dogwhisper to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
center12
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Nov 2013
Location: Kansas
Posts: 345

Well that made me feel better, lol.

__________________
Charlie

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-28-2014 08:54 PM
center12 is offline Click Here to See the Profile for center12 Click here to Send center12 a Private Message Click Here to Email center12 Find more posts by center12 Add center12 to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
center12
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Nov 2013
Location: Kansas
Posts: 345

I'm going off my 2014 score card and 2D is telling me points are open after dogs are scored, dogs were scored before I struck in(me being dog D). Why wouldn't I go for 100 based on the 2014 card and rules?

John Duemmer left me in the dust, lol.

__________________
Charlie

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-28-2014 09:13 PM
center12 is offline Click Here to See the Profile for center12 Click here to Send center12 a Private Message Click Here to Email center12 Find more posts by center12 Add center12 to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
joey
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Jun 2012
Location: McRae Ar
Posts: 3701

quote:
[i]Heres the ? We know that a dog that hasnt been struck cannot break the 8.... SO does a dog that hasnt been struck but opens a couple times require the rest of the cast to cutem? [/B]


Nope, they are not even required to cut them even if he is struck in. At least not until the handlers are comfortable with the distance they have taken the dogs off the tree.

The smart thing in that case is for the other handler to keep his mouth shut until the third bark or they have turned loose.

__________________
Michael Rosamond
Sunspot Lights
936-827-6309
http://www.sunspotlights.com/
When brightness matters!!

Home Of:
PKC Ch, Grch Grnch 2008 Tx state champion They call me Crazy Betty

PKC SCh CH Grnch They call me Howler too

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-28-2014 09:31 PM
joey is offline Click Here to See the Profile for joey Click here to Send joey a Private Message Find more posts by joey Add joey to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
ole hoss
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Dec 2013
Location: ky
Posts: 2264

So in ukc i can choose to lead my dog as long and far as i want off the tree?

__________________
jason

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-28-2014 10:01 PM
ole hoss is offline Click Here to See the Profile for ole hoss Click here to Send ole hoss a Private Message Click Here to Email ole hoss Find more posts by ole hoss Add ole hoss to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
john Duemmer
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Mar 2008
Location: Western N.Y.
Posts: 4005

quote:
Originally posted by center12
I'm going off my 2014 score card and 2D is telling me points are open after dogs are scored, dogs were scored before I struck in(me being dog D). Why wouldn't I go for 100 based on the 2014 card and rules?

John Duemmer left me in the dust, lol.



The simple answer is that UKC. does not consider that tree to be scored until the dogs are recast.

__________________
Everything that makes them a COONDOG is on the inside

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-28-2014 10:13 PM
john Duemmer is offline Click Here to See the Profile for john Duemmer Click here to Send john Duemmer a Private Message Click Here to Email john Duemmer Find more posts by john Duemmer Add john Duemmer to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
center12
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Nov 2013
Location: Kansas
Posts: 345

Ok, works for me. Thanks

__________________
Charlie

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 02-28-2014 11:03 PM
center12 is offline Click Here to See the Profile for center12 Click here to Send center12 a Private Message Click Here to Email center12 Find more posts by center12 Add center12 to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 06:58 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Pages (3): « 1 [2] 3 »   Last Thread   Next Thread
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this Thread


Forum Jump:
 

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 
< Contact Us - United Kennel Club >

Copyright 2003-2020, United Kennel Club
Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.0
(vBulletin courtesy Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.)