Rip
UKC Forum Member
Registered: Jun 2003
Location: Morrison TN
Posts: 4927 |
Brogy, the only way that your way could be correct is if UKC had some wierd interpretation because you can NOT get that from how the rules are written. Basically your are saying you can apply a rule to dog B that dog B doesn't meet the requirements for.
That said, it's UKC's company and they are free to "interpret" it any way they see fit and I will abide by it, as I have always done.
However, there are Roberts Rules of Order as well as the way rules are written, how the english language is interpreted, and how legal documents are interpreted (which rules kinda of are). Exceptions must meet all requirements, no means no etc. When dealing with rules you have the "standard" way to do things. In this case it is standard scoring in no less than two different places that a dog working with the cast can not be struck in over. Now there is an exception, the non working dog rule. However, in rules for any exception to the standard that exception must apply. No doubt it 100% applies to dog A, but it does NOT apply to dog B. So, in regards to dogs being struck in above dog B you must go by the standard scoring until he does qualify for the exception.
Before UKC ruled differently a NtCh dog, just by how you have to interpret rules and the English language, was scratched for even coming in late to an off game tree because the rules defined the authority of the judge as from when he got the card till when it was turned in. That meant a NtCh could be scratched in the parking lot molesting a cat after the hunt was over, and it's how you can scratch a NTCH on tree made after hunt time runs out. Todd made an official interpretation later that it did not apply to dogs that came in to a tree late (after the judge arrives). Now before that, according to the way rules are interpreted you had to scratch the NtCh. Now you have to follow the official interpretation. That's one that I personally think they have wrong based on the wording of the rule, but it's their club and if I am honest and following the rules I have to abide by it.
There may be something going on like this with this one, but WITHOUT some wierd official interpretation in the advisor or something the only way you can interpret it is that dog B is still with the cast and you can't strike in above him because he doesn't meet the requirements of rule 7 and there are not one but 2 rules saying you can't do it.
__________________
Let's go huntin
Last edited by Rip on 01-14-2009 at 04:12 PM
Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged
|