UKC Forums UKC Website :: Hunting Ops :: All-Breed Sports :: Registration :: UKC Online Store
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Registration is free! Calendar Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Home  
UKC Forums : Powered by vBulletin version 2.3.0 UKC Forums > Departments > UKC Beagles > Ok, here is you a scenario.....
  Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Chaffin Crank
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Feb 2006
Location: Milton, WV
Posts: 159

Ok, here is you a scenario.....

4 dog cast. Dog A strikes in and about 1 min later dogs B,C,and D strike in 20 yards away. Dogs are running in 2 different directions. Finally a line is marked on the rabbit that B,C and D are running. Dog B scores the line first and D gets second. Dog C misses the line all together and gets no speed and drive score.

Before I go into detail on the rest of the scenario tell me what you would do to this point.....I will tell you that it didn't turn out the way I thought it would after I took it to the MOH. To be honest I don't think they really knew or at least I didn't get the feeling they did....

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-27-2006 02:49 AM
Chaffin Crank is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Chaffin Crank Click here to Send Chaffin Crank a Private Message Find more posts by Chaffin Crank Add Chaffin Crank to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
xdawgbeagles
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Apr 2004
Location: Milton, WV
Posts: 2551

tough one...

Alrighty.... I'll take a stab at it...

By saying A,B,C,D i'm figuring you mean 100,75,50,25

First off, B pluses Strike and Line, D pluses Strike and Line and C minuses its called position.

Rules state "score first track (one time)" the way i see it is you can only score one line. B&D covered their strike points by scoring a line and C did not. C minuses its called position because the track has ended and he didn't cover his strike points.

So after the first track:
B= +175
D= +110
C= -50
A= "PENDING"

Now the dogs (BDC) would be gathered and turned in on A's track. Although 3rd strike has been minused 4th strike is being held so each dog turned in will be struck in at 25pts each.

-Jack

__________________
Visit XDawgBeagles.com

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-27-2006 03:32 AM
xdawgbeagles is offline Click Here to See the Profile for xdawgbeagles Click here to Send xdawgbeagles a Private Message Click Here to Email xdawgbeagles Visit xdawgbeagles's homepage! Find more posts by xdawgbeagles Add xdawgbeagles to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Stony Branch
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Jun 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 651

Im not real good on the Hunting Beagle rules but I would agree with everything you said except for the last sentence.
You are turning back loose to dog A and it is the one that is holding 1st strike so 2nd,3rd and 4th strike would be open.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-27-2006 04:14 AM
Stony Branch is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Stony Branch Click here to Send Stony Branch a Private Message Click Here to Email Stony Branch Find more posts by Stony Branch Add Stony Branch to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
xdawgbeagles
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Apr 2004
Location: Milton, WV
Posts: 2551

Stony Branch

Stony Branch,

A strike position opens back up once its been minused. The only position being minused is the 50 spot. However, no dog can strike back in over a spot thats being held. The 25 spot is being held by D so all dogs must strike in at 25.

-Jack

__________________
Visit XDawgBeagles.com

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-27-2006 04:20 AM
xdawgbeagles is offline Click Here to See the Profile for xdawgbeagles Click here to Send xdawgbeagles a Private Message Click Here to Email xdawgbeagles Visit xdawgbeagles's homepage! Find more posts by xdawgbeagles Add xdawgbeagles to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Stony Branch
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Jun 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 651

If your catching B,C and D after the line is scored and turning them back in to A wouldnt the only strike that would be open be dog A's????? Dogs B,C and D would no longer be struck after they are caught and then turned back loose.

Last edited by Stony Branch on 04-27-2006 at 04:32 AM

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-27-2006 04:30 AM
Stony Branch is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Stony Branch Click here to Send Stony Branch a Private Message Click Here to Email Stony Branch Find more posts by Stony Branch Add Stony Branch to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Jeremy Mapes
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Nov 2004
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 1026

wouldn't c keep his strike points since a line being scored is the same as the majority seeing the rabbit.

__________________
DCK Labradors and Beagles
Labs-OGF Tucker
DCK Lady Antebellum
DCK Rolling Red Rock
DCK Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup
Beagles- (RIP) FC Buckeyes Big John
HBCH PCH Dry Creek Stroke Of Genius
DCK Bounty Hunter
DCK Queen Of The Cage (Rousey)

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-27-2006 05:06 AM
Jeremy Mapes is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Jeremy Mapes Click here to Send Jeremy Mapes a Private Message Click Here to Email Jeremy Mapes Visit Jeremy Mapes's homepage! Find more posts by Jeremy Mapes Add Jeremy Mapes to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
xdawgbeagles
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Apr 2004
Location: Milton, WV
Posts: 2551

Jeremy Mapes

Jeremy Mapes,

Remember, this is just my opinion, i'm no UKC scholar but YES marking a line, agreeing to score the line, and having atleast one dog actually score it counts as the majority seeing the rabbit. BUT, to plus strikes alone majority must see the rabbit and the hounds must hole it. In this situation, there was no hole.

-Jack

__________________
Visit XDawgBeagles.com

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-27-2006 11:44 AM
xdawgbeagles is offline Click Here to See the Profile for xdawgbeagles Click here to Send xdawgbeagles a Private Message Click Here to Email xdawgbeagles Visit xdawgbeagles's homepage! Find more posts by xdawgbeagles Add xdawgbeagles to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
ben hall
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Sep 2003
Location:
Posts: 378

to this point it is tricky because the guy did not say if they holed or lost their rabbit if they lost it then dog c would not get its stike but if they holed it then it would get it strike points.

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-27-2006 12:22 PM
ben hall is offline Click Here to See the Profile for ben hall Click here to Send ben hall a Private Message Click Here to Email ben hall Visit ben hall's homepage! Find more posts by ben hall Add ben hall to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Todd M / UKC
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Jun 2003
Location: The Great State of Michigan
Posts: 2487

Re: tough one...

quote:
Originally posted by xdawgbeagles
Alrighty.... I'll take a stab at it...

By saying A,B,C,D i'm figuring you mean 100,75,50,25

First off, B pluses Strike and Line, D pluses Strike and Line and C minuses its called position.

Rules state "score first track (one time)" the way i see it is you can only score one line. B&D covered their strike points by scoring a line and C did not. C minuses its called position because the track has ended and he didn't cover his strike points.

So after the first track:
B= +175
D= +110
C= -50
A= "PENDING"

Now the dogs (BDC) would be gathered and turned in on A's track. Although 3rd strike has been minused 4th strike is being held so each dog turned in will be struck in at 25pts each.

-Jack




What Jack said here is right except that second strike is now available. The dogs are to strike in for 75, 50 and 25. You cannot plus the dogs strike points that misses the line. Once he misses its over and they have to be caught immediately. Picking a dog up off a track (shich he has to do) results in minus of called position.

__________________
Work hard and play even harder

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-27-2006 12:40 PM
Todd M / UKC is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Todd M / UKC Click Here to Email Todd M / UKC Visit Todd M / UKC's homepage! Find more posts by Todd M / UKC Add Todd M / UKC to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
xdawgbeagles
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Apr 2004
Location: Milton, WV
Posts: 2551

Todd,

Todd,

As you already know.... I don't know it all...lol

Anyways, since its a split track and you have your strikes split over 2 tracks would it not be basically considered a second set of strike points by opening 2nd, 3rd, and 4th strike posistions?

I know the same 100 spot is still going, but i don't see where its fair for dog B from the first track to plus 75 and now have another chance to plus 75 more before A ever pluses his 100.

In the rules i have only found it saying posistions become available once they have been minused. In the case of split track even though they have been plussed, would they not still be considered being held (scored) under the same set of strikes? The rules say only one set of strikes.

I'm sure you can shed some light on this that will clear it up.

Thanks Man,
Jack

__________________
Visit XDawgBeagles.com

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-27-2006 01:00 PM
xdawgbeagles is offline Click Here to See the Profile for xdawgbeagles Click here to Send xdawgbeagles a Private Message Click Here to Email xdawgbeagles Visit xdawgbeagles's homepage! Find more posts by xdawgbeagles Add xdawgbeagles to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Todd M / UKC
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Jun 2003
Location: The Great State of Michigan
Posts: 2487

Where does it say that they split strikes?





STRIKES

__________________
Work hard and play even harder

Last edited by Todd M / UKC on 04-27-2006 at 06:35 PM

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-27-2006 03:38 PM
Todd M / UKC is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Todd M / UKC Click Here to Email Todd M / UKC Visit Todd M / UKC's homepage! Find more posts by Todd M / UKC Add Todd M / UKC to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
xdawgbeagles
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Apr 2004
Location: Milton, WV
Posts: 2551

Re: Ok, here is you a scenario.....

quote:
Originally posted by Chaffin Crank
4 dog cast. Dog A strikes in and about 1 min later dogs B,C,and D strike in 20 yards away. ***Dogs are running in 2 different directions. ******Finally a line is marked on the rabbit that B,C and D are running. Dog B scores the line first and D gets second. Dog C misses the line all together and gets no speed and drive score.



***First, its noted that you have 2 packs moving in different directions....

******Second, its noted "a line is marked on the rabbit that B,C, and D are running". The way its written says there were 2 rabbits being run.


Maybe i'm taking this for granted, but everything about this screams split track.

-Jack

__________________
Visit XDawgBeagles.com

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-27-2006 06:10 PM
xdawgbeagles is offline Click Here to See the Profile for xdawgbeagles Click here to Send xdawgbeagles a Private Message Click Here to Email xdawgbeagles Visit xdawgbeagles's homepage! Find more posts by xdawgbeagles Add xdawgbeagles to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Todd M / UKC
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Jun 2003
Location: The Great State of Michigan
Posts: 2487

where does it say their STRIKES were split? Not split track

__________________
Work hard and play even harder

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-27-2006 06:36 PM
Todd M / UKC is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Todd M / UKC Click Here to Email Todd M / UKC Visit Todd M / UKC's homepage! Find more posts by Todd M / UKC Add Todd M / UKC to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
xdawgbeagles
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Apr 2004
Location: Milton, WV
Posts: 2551

?

Who said there was a split strike?

I'm sayin the "ONE SET" of strike posistions is scattered out over 2 different tracks....

-Jack

__________________
Visit XDawgBeagles.com

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-27-2006 06:52 PM
xdawgbeagles is offline Click Here to See the Profile for xdawgbeagles Click here to Send xdawgbeagles a Private Message Click Here to Email xdawgbeagles Visit xdawgbeagles's homepage! Find more posts by xdawgbeagles Add xdawgbeagles to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Todd M / UKC
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Jun 2003
Location: The Great State of Michigan
Posts: 2487

2. POINT SYSTEM:

a. 100 points for dog that opens and is declared struck first, 75 points second, 50 points third, 25 points fourth. If a dog is turned back in on a track, he gets next available position. If all positions are taken, he gets 25 points.

When they got turned back in the only position "taken" was first.

__________________
Work hard and play even harder

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-27-2006 07:36 PM
Todd M / UKC is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Todd M / UKC Click Here to Email Todd M / UKC Visit Todd M / UKC's homepage! Find more posts by Todd M / UKC Add Todd M / UKC to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
xdawgbeagles
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Apr 2004
Location: Milton, WV
Posts: 2551

thank you...

thanks you mr morgan....

thats light....

-Jack

__________________
Visit XDawgBeagles.com

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-27-2006 08:03 PM
xdawgbeagles is offline Click Here to See the Profile for xdawgbeagles Click here to Send xdawgbeagles a Private Message Click Here to Email xdawgbeagles Visit xdawgbeagles's homepage! Find more posts by xdawgbeagles Add xdawgbeagles to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Chaffin Crank
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Feb 2006
Location: Milton, WV
Posts: 159

Ok, my mind was doing over 100mph trying to figure anything out, so I asked everybody what to do with dog C, nobody really knew. Well I thought the dog should stay on his original track since he didn't score the line. Well we finally decided that we should pick up dog C and turn him into Dog A along with B and D. Well B and D were caught and turned in on Dog A. Dog C wasn't so easy to catch and continued running his original track and then to 2 tracks came within feet of each other and then once again we were all back on the same track...LOL (it was a mess)

Well me and another cast member thought that Dog C should be minused his stirke points for being picked up. Then it came to our attention that Dog C was never caught and leashed off his track. So we then thought that Dog C should be minused for quitting his original track. Nobody really knew what to do so we ? it and took it back to the MOH.


The MOH didn't really know so we got the rule book out and went over it...didn't really shed any light on it...and He said that Dog C should have been picked up with B and D and turned in on A eventhough he didn't score the line....What do you guys think...Is this right? I would like to find out just in case this ever happens again...(hope not) The way I understand it is once a dog scores a line on a split track he is to be turned in on other track but what if he doesn't score it and other dogs do?

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-27-2006 09:43 PM
Chaffin Crank is offline Click Here to See the Profile for Chaffin Crank Click here to Send Chaffin Crank a Private Message Find more posts by Chaffin Crank Add Chaffin Crank to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
xdawgbeagles
UKC Forum Member

Registered: Apr 2004
Location: Milton, WV
Posts: 2551

line

Its not once a dog scores a line.... Its once a line is scored.... (doesn't reffer to how many dogs have to score... Just says score a line)

-Jack

__________________
Visit XDawgBeagles.com

Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Old Post 04-27-2006 10:03 PM
xdawgbeagles is offline Click Here to See the Profile for xdawgbeagles Click here to Send xdawgbeagles a Private Message Click Here to Email xdawgbeagles Visit xdawgbeagles's homepage! Find more posts by xdawgbeagles Add xdawgbeagles to your buddy list Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
All times are GMT. The time now is 12:57 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this Thread


Forum Jump:
 

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 
< Contact Us - United Kennel Club >

Copyright 2003-2020, United Kennel Club
Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.0
(vBulletin courtesy Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.)