UKC Forums
Show all 21 posts from this thread on one page

UKC Forums (http://forums.ukcdogs.com/index.php)
- UKC Coonhounds (http://forums.ukcdogs.com/forumdisplay.php?forumid=4)
-- nite hunt question (http://forums.ukcdogs.com/showthread.php?threadid=314198)


Posted by kballard on 11-24-2009 04:09 PM:

nite hunt question

Three dog cast:
Dogs A and B are struck and get out of hearing. Dog C is working nearby but does not open and is not struck in. Cast walks toward A and B and can barely hear them, but hear them enough to break the eight minute rule which is started several times. Finally, A and B are declared treed, but still at some distance. Dog C is still heard moving around near the cast, but is not opening. Cast moves toward tree, stopping occasionally to listen for dog C and to hear Dogs A and B. Cast finally arrives at tree after about 20 minutes from time dogs declared treed. When cast arrives, A and B are treeing and so is Dog C which apparently arrived just before cast since it was not heard barking before that point. Dog C was neverr declared struck or treed. All dogs are leashed, tree is shined and coon is seen. How is Dog C scored?

I have seen a similar scenario on a couple of occasions and it is usually scored with Dog C receiving next available tree points and minused. However, I can't seem to find the rule that applies. Rule 4g states that "dog treeing, but not declared treed, when judge arrives will be minused on tree points on off game or slick tree." Rule 5b says "no dog to receive minus points for coming into tree after judge arrives unless a coon is seen". Rule 5g says delete points "when dog that is shut out comes into tree shut out on".

It seems that Dog C should be penalized for getting to the tree so late, but I can't seem to find the appropriate rule.


Posted by John D on 11-24-2009 04:15 PM:

Good question.

One way of looking at it is the dog was not struck and deserves strike points assigned and minused for that. Thats probably what I'd go with.

Had he been struck, he would have been shut out on strike and had them deleted.

There's no provision for assigning tree points when a coon is seen.

__________________

Click here to visit The B&T Coonhunters Message Forum for news, views, open discussion, ads, and event winners in the B&T Breed (Registration, with your full name, required)


Click here to see my Dog List


Posted by CHRIS PACE on 11-24-2009 04:21 PM:

After the 5, before the judge.

__________________
Dog Up!
Shorty is LOUD,LOUD and PROUD


Posted by Lee Currens Jr. on 11-24-2009 04:39 PM:

4j


Posted by john Duemmer on 11-24-2009 04:39 PM:

Boils down to wheather the dog was treeing before the cast arrived, if it was the judge should have put on the brakes and asked for a call. Since he didnt do that and the dog was not on the card there are no points assigned to be minused. Dog c. stays at zero.


Posted by on 11-24-2009 05:03 PM:

I may be wrong (because of dog C being shutout) but I believe rule 4(j) is the only rule that can be applied here. I don't think there is any situation where a dog can bark three times after the 1st minute and not be struck without penalty, not even if that dog is shutout. If I had been judging this situation, I would have counted 4 barks and minused dog C next available strike postion and if the handler still doesn't strike that dog, I'd count four more barks and scratch dog C. Nothing in the rules excuses a dog at a tree from being required to be struck in.


Posted by Lee Currens Jr. on 11-24-2009 05:08 PM:

Jim what if he has handled the dog without treeing it


Posted by treberta on 11-24-2009 05:13 PM:

quote:
Originally posted by blueticking: it
Jim what if he has handled the dog without treeing it


He has to handle it. He has no choice. This senario is a confusing one as far as what should be done however it is something that I have seen happen in several hunts. If the dog was treeing when the judge walked in there the ONLY thing that could be done is just what JiM stated. Only his strike could be minused.


Posted by Lee Currens Jr. on 11-24-2009 05:32 PM:

thanks,im getting lazy and didnt want to read back thru.
so in a nutshell it is good sportsmanship to strike & tree
everytime,you can only receive the bad.


Posted by john Duemmer on 11-24-2009 05:40 PM:

I think it boils down to when dog c arrived at the tree. If hes there ahead of the cast he should have been required to call his dog or be assigned strike points and minused, but i disagree with jim if he feels he can assign and minus the dog after we arrive at the tree and the dogs are handled. Jim As far as what you said about a dog not being excused at a tree from being struck, I believe that changes as soon as the cast has arrived. I hope c isnt my dog but if he is and you start assigning and minusing after we arrive at the tree we will be headed to the clubhouse.


Posted by Lee Currens Jr. on 11-24-2009 05:48 PM:

mr. duemmer my rule book says nothing about a tree its
says several times in it a dog has to be stuck in by the
3rd bark or scratched on 2nd time.


Posted by john Duemmer on 11-24-2009 06:04 PM:

Assume for a second that dog c comes in while the tree is being shined and barks, are you going to require he be struck or minused?


Posted by Lee Currens Jr. on 11-24-2009 06:32 PM:

take it like a man John,i could have stayed home with the
wife & kids


Posted by treberta on 11-24-2009 06:40 PM:

quote:
Originally posted by john Duemmer
Assume for a second that dog c comes in while the tree is being shined and barks, are you going to require he be struck or minused?


I agree John, however if he was treeing when the cast arrived at the tree he will be minused because obviously it had barked more then 3 times therefore it will be minused.


Posted by john Duemmer on 11-24-2009 06:53 PM:

In the original post it was said that the gog was not heard to bark before the cast arrived so i would think 5g would apply.


Posted by treberta on 11-24-2009 07:02 PM:

I guess you and I would just have to be there.


Posted by kballard on 11-24-2009 07:27 PM:

variation on this question

Slightly different situation:

What if Dog C is struck in after Dogs A and B are declared treed but does not get to the tree until after the 5 minutes are up? When cast arrives, Dog C is treeing. Coon is seen.

Does Dog C have its strike points deleted and no tree points scored? Rule 5g?


Posted by on 11-24-2009 08:15 PM:

If dog C strikes in after the dogs are treed, it doesn't matter when dog C gets there, his strike is deleted. There is no circumstance where a dog shutout on strike can be minused strike points if it covers the tree it was shutout on. The rule requireing dogs to be struck on or before the 3rd bark has nothing to do with being shutout. It makes no difference when, where or how a dog barks those 3 times. It makes no difference what the circumstances are. 4 barks after the 1st minute without being struck, you get minused, 4 more your dog is gone.


Posted by kballard on 11-24-2009 09:40 PM:

Okay. I'm clear on the strike points. What about tree points in the above situation?


Posted by on 11-24-2009 11:52 PM:

What tree points? The dog was never treed. There no tree points to score.


Posted by Rip on 11-25-2009 01:05 AM:

The ONLY time you can "assign" points in a UKC hunt is when a dog is at the tree AND TREEING before the judge arrives at either a SLICK or OFF GAME TREE, and the origional dogs must be minused as well.

In other words you can't assign tree points to a dog on anything but a minus tree.

__________________
Let's go huntin


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:04 AM.
Show all 21 posts from this thread on one page

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.0
Copyright © Jelsoft Enterprises Limited 2000 - 2002.
Copyright 2003-2020, United Kennel Club