UKC Forums Pages (2): [1] 2 »
Show all 29 posts from this thread on one page

UKC Forums (http://forums.ukcdogs.com/index.php)
- UKC Coonhounds (http://forums.ukcdogs.com/forumdisplay.php?forumid=4)
-- Garmin Questions? (http://forums.ukcdogs.com/showthread.php?threadid=928505099)


Posted by Bruce m. Conkey on 06-05-2018 12:52 PM:

Garmin Questions?



I know everyone has improved their skills with their Garmin but I really enjoy trying to figure out your questions and giving some help if I can.

__________________
www.ConkeysOutdoors.com
"Boss Lights"


Posted by JHayes on 06-05-2018 02:15 PM:

Hey Mr Conkey
How do we go about getting Garmin to put more colors on the handheld
For guys that run several dogs at once itís nice to have the track color match the dogs collar color.


Posted by yadkintar on 06-05-2018 02:20 PM:

Jimmys alpha went from yards to miles last night and we couldn't figure out how to change it back.



Tar


Posted by Billy Garrison on 06-05-2018 02:45 PM:

I have a questions also.....how do you get dog icon back on map page instead of pointer? Thanks as always Bruce!


Posted by Bruce m. Conkey on 06-05-2018 03:50 PM:

.

First Mr. Garrison, I saw where you sent me a PM yesterday and I forgot to get back with you. I apologize for that. Now to your question.

I will assume your talking about a ALPJA handheld. Go to the map page and then menu.

There are three things in the middle of the menu that is helpful. Your going to see Show/Hide Dog status. That changes the icon form a dog to an arrow. Then you will see Show/Hide Dog Distances and that will put the distance the dog if from you and last but not least is Show/Hide dogs names. To some the menu is backwards. If you see the word hide then that means the name, distance or dog icon is on the screen. If you see show, then it means they are not. Only an arrow. That is because SHOW is the option it gives you to select.

__________________
www.ConkeysOutdoors.com
"Boss Lights"


Posted by Bruce m. Conkey on 06-05-2018 03:54 PM:

.

Tar from the home page select setup. Then scroll two pages till you see the menu bar for units. Select that and the top selection should say DISTANCE/SPEED and yards below that.

When in yards the handheld will show feet when real close and then swap to yards and at about 850 yards or so, swap to miles. I think .6 miles is where it swaps to miles. Think I saw .5 once but it was late at night. The swapping is an auto when you have YARDS selected.

__________________
www.ConkeysOutdoors.com
"Boss Lights"


Posted by Bruce m. Conkey on 06-05-2018 04:00 PM:

.

Mr. Hayes. Mine has 16 colors if I counted them correctly. Are you wanting more than that. I know it will hold 20 collars and 20 color selections therefore 20 is probably what it should be. Lot of guys match the track color to the collar color and many go to the ten most common colors and get get a reflective collar that has the same 10 colors as the solid ones they have. I know it won't help on the screen but they then put a R in front of the dogs name to help them keep it straight.

The truth for me is I am color blind and about 6 of them colors is all I see. lol

__________________
www.ConkeysOutdoors.com
"Boss Lights"


Posted by JHayes on 06-05-2018 04:13 PM:

Thank you Mr Conkey
I had a yellow on mine done an update and itís gone
Garmin told me there never was a yellow lol
Heck maybe Iím color blind as well haha
Thanks for the info


Posted by Bruce m. Conkey on 06-05-2018 04:59 PM:

.

I think I have yellow on mine, any least I call it yellow.


If you don't have a lot of saved stuff you would loose, then a master reset would probably bring it back.

__________________
www.ConkeysOutdoors.com
"Boss Lights"


Posted by joey on 06-05-2018 06:05 PM:

How do you clear archived tracks without doing it one at a time?

__________________
Michael Rosamond
Sunspot Lights
936-827-6309
http://www.sunspotlights.com/
When brightness matters!!

Home Of:
PKC Ch, Grch Grnch 2008 Tx state champion They call me Crazy Betty

PKC SCh CH Grnch They call me Howler too


Posted by Bruce m. Conkey on 06-05-2018 06:21 PM:

.

Joey there always has to be one person in the crowd that ask something I can't answer. lol On the handheld the only way I know is ONE at a time. I am sure I could pug it into the computer and either by going into the file or using base camp eliminate more than one at a time. However I would not recommend that to anyone that any less than very good computer experience. You delete the wrong file and your handheld is useless.

__________________
www.ConkeysOutdoors.com
"Boss Lights"


Posted by CHEWBACH on 06-05-2018 06:35 PM:

quote:
Originally posted by yadkintar
Jimmys alpha went from yards to miles last night and we couldn't figure out how to change it back.



Tar

what jimmy do start hunting walkers and left blue dog at home !!

__________________
C.JONES


Posted by joey on 06-05-2018 07:32 PM:

Re: .

quote:
Originally posted by Bruce m. Conkey
Joey there always has to be one person in the crowd that ask something I can't answer. lol On the handheld the only way I know is ONE at a time. I am sure I could pug it into the computer and either by going into the file or using base camp eliminate more than one at a time. However I would not recommend that to anyone that any less than very good computer experience. You delete the wrong file and your handheld is useless.


Thats not what I wanted to hear Bruce.

I turn mine on every time before I leave the house to make sure everything is working. So I have 2 archived tracks for each time I have went. Its taking a long dang time!

__________________
Michael Rosamond
Sunspot Lights
936-827-6309
http://www.sunspotlights.com/
When brightness matters!!

Home Of:
PKC Ch, Grch Grnch 2008 Tx state champion They call me Crazy Betty

PKC SCh CH Grnch They call me Howler too


Posted by yadkintar on 06-05-2018 08:11 PM:

quote:
Originally posted by CHEWBACH
what jimmy do start hunting walkers and left blue dog at home !!




He is a registered X bred now lol ( still a half n half to me ) but we had a good hunt going again tonight I got to fix his Garmin I am going to start calling him thumbs Davis lol.



Tar


Posted by Tom anderson on 06-06-2018 02:24 AM:

Joey set your setting where it delete your tracks daily instead of when full it will delete every day at midnight or it does mine anyway


Posted by Braddo28 on 06-06-2018 10:59 PM:

I dont have a garmin but am looking into getting a tracking collar so this might be a dumb question, but does the charger charge both the collar and the remote or does one take regular batteries?


Posted by Tom anderson on 06-06-2018 11:24 PM:

Depending on the one you get


Posted by F bond on 06-08-2018 09:22 PM:

I have a tt-15 that shows I'm tracking the collar even after the collar is shut off. If you go to collar info on the handheld it shows that the collar has gps signal and good communication with handheld. It has done this twice now first time the dogs crossed over the Ridge and I lost all the collars but this one it showed it staying in the same spot. Drove around to the other side and picked all the collars back up. When I shut collars off 10 minutes later handheld was still showing the collar where I had shut it off and had 3 bars gps signal and full communication with handheld and collar. Second time the collar had went dead but handheld was showing the collar in different spot with 1 bar battery and full gps and communication. Makes a man want to throw it over the hill when you have a handheld showing the dog at 575 yards treed and the dog is 5feet from you on a lead and the collar is off.


Posted by Bruce m. Conkey on 06-08-2018 10:30 PM:

.

Some things I would do. Master reset the collar. Update the collar. Update your handheld. That is where i would start. If that was done and it still acts up. I would change the ID number on the collar. In other words a slight frequency change might clear things up. I dont know if there power lines in the area or a communications tower on the ridge. But worth a try for just a couple minutes of pushing some buttons. If the collar is less than a year old you also have the option of getting a replacement under warrnty. I know this stuff can be fustrating and hard to explain at times. But a smalle change in ID numbers can make the difference.

__________________
www.ConkeysOutdoors.com
"Boss Lights"


Posted by markwood on 06-09-2018 02:09 PM:

questions

bruce i got 1 for ya i run 2 alphas on 7 dogs at same time one of my tt10 collars keeps loosing comms on only 1 of the alphas i have updated everything changed ids multiple times and this still happens it is always same collar and same alpha the collar tracks fine on 2nd alpha any clue how to fix


Posted by Bruce m. Conkey on 06-09-2018 03:04 PM:

.

Mark unfortunately I think you have stumped me. Appreciate all the information you gave on the problem as it helped me to understand I was stumped. LOL The only thing I can think to ask is. Do you always put this one collar on one particular dog. Do you run any other tracking collars with this collar.
I have seen sometimes a shorter dog in thick stuff have more issues than a taller dog.
Seven Collars tells me your a rabbit hunter or bear hunter, maybe Yotes. If that collar is always on the same dog. I would try swapping it to another dog. If you have beagles this may be the small necked one and the GPS antenna is setting to far to the side and not on top. If you can add anything to the situation please do so.

__________________
www.ConkeysOutdoors.com
"Boss Lights"


Posted by Roy Grant on 06-10-2018 07:10 PM:

Bruce I use a 320 with an Il chip with a t5. in an area I hunt my map goes black just showing the roads and an arrow showing the dog. ???


Posted by Bruce m. Conkey on 06-11-2018 12:34 AM:

.

Does it show detail in some areas and just black in the area you hunt. Have to start out with where your at and what map card you have in there. Then if it works for one area and not another it either has a dead spot in the map or the coverage stops before you get to your hunting ground.

__________________
www.ConkeysOutdoors.com
"Boss Lights"


Posted by markwood on 06-11-2018 01:09 AM:

alpha

i have bear hounds and yea i run a marshall collars mounted on the tt 10 collars this collar is ran on a smaller dog though so i will try switching it up never thought about that ive been thinking the problem is with the alpha since the 1 is all that looses comms but ill try this week and let you know


Posted by Dwoods on 06-11-2018 10:44 PM:

Maps

Whatís the best mapping system in your opinion


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:32 AM. Pages (2): [1] 2 »
Show all 29 posts from this thread on one page

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.0
Copyright © Jelsoft Enterprises Limited 2000 - 2002.
Copyright 2003-2017, United Kennel Club