![]() |
Pages (2): [1] 2 » Show all 28 posts from this thread on one page |
UKC Forums (http://forums.ukcdogs.com/index.php)
- UKC Coonhounds (http://forums.ukcdogs.com/forumdisplay.php?forumid=4)
-- Question about a nite Hunt? (http://forums.ukcdogs.com/showthread.php?threadid=928315624)
Question about a nite Hunt?
Now I dont want to start any fights with this post just want to make sure I know the rules better so if it comes up again the cast will know how to handle it.
Here is the situation it is getting to the end of the hunt two dogs are already withdrawn from the hunt so there is only two left. So dog A and B are out hunting nothing barked for over ten minutes. Finally dog A strikes and trees and we here nothing from dog B. As we are approaching the tree the five minutes are up the judge sees the dog there says you can go handle your dog. As they are walking up to the tree to handle dog A. Dog B runs over there jumps on the tree and starts barking. Does the handler of Dog B need to strike in his dog? If he did not strike in his dog is he minused? How do you handle the situation? The coon was also seen in the tree too.
He would already be closed out on tree? And I believe minused tree points if coon is seen
__________________
GrCh GrNtCh 'PR' Woodstock Timber "Chopper"
(Nt Ch Woodstock Gun x 'PR' Woodstock Josie)
-2015 World Hunt qualified
-2018 Georgia State Championship 3rd overall
-2018 Peach Classic 10th place overall Friday night
GrCh 'PR' Woostock Timber "Sissy"
(Nt Ch Woodstock Gun x 'PR' Woodstock Josie)
-2013 World Bench Show qualified
-2013 Akc Ga State Queen of show
-Georgia Carolina Peach Classic Champion Female Fri/Sat
NtCh'PR' Swamp Stompin Sug
(GrCh GrNt 'PR' Nettle Creek Stick 2 It x 'PR' Swampbottom Tree Sassy)
'PR' Cold Waters Little Ann
(GrNt 'PR' Hardtime Rocky 4 x GrNt 'PR' Long Hollow Tree Talking Coin)
Grand American 2018 Friday night 6th place registered 14th overall
www.woodstockenglishkennels.com
Dog B has got to be struck with a line. Because he was struck after dog A was treed. Since he came in after the the cast got there he gets deleted.
in the situation above,where the dog was shut out,he does not have any strike points to minus.and you do not award strike points to dogs that are shut out in this scenario.page 57 of the advisor.
__________________
fred harroun
319-325-3786
Plotts
NPHA
APA
josh was dog A already handled before dog B came in or did he come into tree and start barking before dog A was handled.what im asking is did dog B get there and start barking before you guys got to tree.
__________________
fred harroun
319-325-3786
Plotts
NPHA
APA
Hard to believe this has come up again so soon after it was discussed over about 5 pages of posts just a week or two ago.
The answer is YES, the dog must be struck on or before the third bark even though it's strike would be deleted for being shut out. There are NO exceptions to this rule. no circumstance where it does not apply. Anytime the minute is up, a dog must be struck on or before the third bark or minused next available strike position and then if three more barks pass without a strike call, that dog is scratched.
__________________
UKC Nite Champion Stylish Harry's Trixie - 2017 World Hunt Qualified - Owners - Sizemore/Martin
PKC CH/UKC GrNtCh Stylish Kate - 9/12/08 to 9/23/2016 R.I.P - Owners Sizemore/Martin
AKC/UKC NtCh Sizemore's Timber Jam Jeff 5/2/2000 to 1/22/2012 R.I.P.
AKC/UKC GrNtCh Sizemore's Timber Jam Jessi 12/21/04 to 1/21/2011 R.I.P.
Here we go again....
You eliminate all other questions when you stick with:
A dog must be declared struck on or before the third bark, after the first minute of having been turned loose. Forget about any other scenario you may have.
After that it becomes easy. On this tree B was shutout (not declared struck before A was declared treed). Unless you determined the dog came in "after you arrived", Rule 4d applies. Coon is seen and strike points are minused. But.... the dog was shut out on this tree so his strike points are deleted and none to minus.
In answer to your question: Yes, the dog should have been declared struck.
This was discussed some time ago and several suggest a dog does not need to be declared struck if you're at the tree or close or whatever. Not sure where they would then draw the line. There should be no line to draw. Rather strike the dog on or before the third bark, regardless of the situation!
What would happen if the dog came in after the tree was scored???
same scenerio....shut out..tree closed...tree scored...as we turn to walk away with my dog on a leash the other dog comes and trees that tree....
Shut out on track so its deleted....previously scored trees can't be scored so dog gets nothing?????
__________________
Team Trackman!!
'PR' Trackman's Dizzy Duke
quote:
Originally posted by mauser06
What would happen if the dog came in after the tree was scored???
same scenerio....shut out..tree closed...tree scored...as we turn to walk away with my dog on a leash the other dog comes and trees that tree....
Shut out on track so its deleted....previously scored trees can't be scored so dog gets nothing?????
__________________
Everything that makes them a COONDOG is on the inside
I know that John...but what happens with tree points?? Assuming nothing because tree was scored...Forgot to mention coon was seen...
Just doesn't seem "right" though...dog had plenty of time to get there...tree was right with a coon...
__________________
Team Trackman!!
'PR' Trackman's Dizzy Duke
quote:
Originally posted by mauser06
I know that John...but what happens with tree points?? Assuming nothing because tree was scored...Forgot to mention coon was seen...
Just doesn't seem "right" though...dog had plenty of time to get there...tree was right with a coon...
__________________
UKC Nite Champion Stylish Harry's Trixie - 2017 World Hunt Qualified - Owners - Sizemore/Martin
PKC CH/UKC GrNtCh Stylish Kate - 9/12/08 to 9/23/2016 R.I.P - Owners Sizemore/Martin
AKC/UKC NtCh Sizemore's Timber Jam Jeff 5/2/2000 to 1/22/2012 R.I.P.
AKC/UKC GrNtCh Sizemore's Timber Jam Jessi 12/21/04 to 1/21/2011 R.I.P.
Fred the dog was barking treed before the other dog was handled. Thanks for all the comments that is exactly what I thought. If the dog barks three times you have to strike the dogs or you will be minused. All i was that night was a non hunting guide so I just stayed out of it.
Thanx Jim...I changed the original question slightly...
To 1 dog out not struck in..the other struck in, treed, plussed both ways coon seen...as dog is being led away to listen for the 2nd dog or to call time out to move, 2nd dog comes in and trees that same tree that was just scored...
Its strike points are deleted....rules say no points for preciously scored tree.....but does that apply and the dog gets lucky since the tree was scored? Or does "dog coming in after judge" apply? Which off the top of my head I think is minused for coon seen?
__________________
Team Trackman!!
'PR' Trackman's Dizzy Duke
You don't have to tree your dog period. Ain't gotta worry about those points. You tree it and the fives up. Your saying its split. You'll go in for 125. Then when you do get it off that tree. You'll have 125 minus.
__________________
Michael Ghorley
GA DAWG the question was never if he had to tree his dog or not. I was just asking if he should take his minus for not strike his dog.
I was the judge in the cast I said minus he didn't believe it,the other fella in the cast said minus,he didnt like it so I said ok well put a ? On it,it did not change the outcome of the hunt and my tracking collar shut off so i had to find my dog,they took card back to the club and don't no if they asked the ? Or not
__________________
Jesse nappin
TEAM TREEDOGG!
What kind of collar?
__________________
UKC Nite Champion Stylish Harry's Trixie - 2017 World Hunt Qualified - Owners - Sizemore/Martin
PKC CH/UKC GrNtCh Stylish Kate - 9/12/08 to 9/23/2016 R.I.P - Owners Sizemore/Martin
AKC/UKC NtCh Sizemore's Timber Jam Jeff 5/2/2000 to 1/22/2012 R.I.P.
AKC/UKC GrNtCh Sizemore's Timber Jam Jessi 12/21/04 to 1/21/2011 R.I.P.
so
allen said; "the dog was shut out on this tree,so its strike points are deleted and none to minus"
so a dog barking more than 3 times at a "closed" tree can't be minused for not being struck? {if its shut out on both strike and tree}
DC-30
__________________
Jesse nappin
TEAM TREEDOGG!
Re: so
quote:Im thinking one can still be minused but that does confuse me. What if it barks 15 times. I can't scratch it for not being struck cause its shut out?
Originally posted by prostockpat
allen said; "the dog was shut out on this tree,so its strike points are deleted and none to minus"
so a dog barking more than 3 times at a "closed" tree can't be minused for not being struck? {if its shut out on both strike and tree}
__________________
Michael Ghorley
Re: so
quote:
Originally posted by prostockpat
allen said; "the dog was shut out on this tree,so its strike points are deleted and none to minus"
so a dog barking more than 3 times at a "closed" tree can't be minused for not being struck? {if its shut out on both strike and tree}
and can't be minued at all....... even if coon is seen?
__________________
Jesse nappin
TEAM TREEDOGG!
.
But.... the dog was shut out on this tree so his strike points are deleted and none to minus.
the dog didn't have any strike points so you cant delete what he don't have and you cant give him any strike points to delete.
__________________
fred harroun
319-325-3786
Plotts
NPHA
APA
But you can assign and minus strike points for failing to strike his dog.
__________________
Everything that makes them a COONDOG is on the inside
This is getting really confusing so hopefully I can shed some light on it.
Allen said the dog must be struck on or before the third bark every time, no exceptions. Seems pretty simple to me. If a dog comes in and barks, he needs to be struck. It just so happens in this scenario that the dog would also get his strike points deleted for being on a tree shut out on. That DOES NOT make any difference, the dog still has to be struck.
Jesse is also correct that if the dog barks more than 3 times, the dog is to be minused the next available strike position. This is because the handler failed to strike his dog on or before the third bark. Just because the dog was shut out on this tree doesn't mean he can't be minused for FAILING TO CALL HIS DOG. He's not getting minused for anything other than that.
The theory that "he's shut out so he doesn't have any strike to minus or delete" just doesn't hold water. If that were the case you'd never have to strike your dog after another dog trees but we all know that isn't the case.
__________________
Paul Frederick
319-371-6362
All times are GMT. The time now is 04:36 PM. | Pages (2): [1] 2 » Show all 28 posts from this thread on one page |
Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.0
Copyright © Jelsoft Enterprises Limited 2000 - 2002.
Copyright 2003-2020, United Kennel Club