![]() |
Show all 18 posts from this thread on one page |
UKC Forums (http://forums.ukcdogs.com/index.php)
- UKC Beagles (http://forums.ukcdogs.com/forumdisplay.php?forumid=3)
-- Ok, here is you a scenario..... (http://forums.ukcdogs.com/showthread.php?threadid=93211)
Ok, here is you a scenario.....
4 dog cast. Dog A strikes in and about 1 min later dogs B,C,and D strike in 20 yards away. Dogs are running in 2 different directions. Finally a line is marked on the rabbit that B,C and D are running. Dog B scores the line first and D gets second. Dog C misses the line all together and gets no speed and drive score.
Before I go into detail on the rest of the scenario tell me what you would do to this point.....I will tell you that it didn't turn out the way I thought it would after I took it to the MOH. To be honest I don't think they really knew or at least I didn't get the feeling they did....
tough one...
Alrighty.... I'll take a stab at it...
By saying A,B,C,D i'm figuring you mean 100,75,50,25
First off, B pluses Strike and Line, D pluses Strike and Line and C minuses its called position.
Rules state "score first track (one time)" the way i see it is you can only score one line. B&D covered their strike points by scoring a line and C did not. C minuses its called position because the track has ended and he didn't cover his strike points.
So after the first track:
B= +175
D= +110
C= -50
A= "PENDING"
Now the dogs (BDC) would be gathered and turned in on A's track. Although 3rd strike has been minused 4th strike is being held so each dog turned in will be struck in at 25pts each.
-Jack
__________________
Visit XDawgBeagles.com
Im not real good on the Hunting Beagle rules but I would agree with everything you said except for the last sentence.
You are turning back loose to dog A and it is the one that is holding 1st strike so 2nd,3rd and 4th strike would be open.
Stony Branch
Stony Branch,
A strike position opens back up once its been minused. The only position being minused is the 50 spot. However, no dog can strike back in over a spot thats being held. The 25 spot is being held by D so all dogs must strike in at 25.
-Jack
__________________
Visit XDawgBeagles.com
If your catching B,C and D after the line is scored and turning them back in to A wouldnt the only strike that would be open be dog A's????? Dogs B,C and D would no longer be struck after they are caught and then turned back loose.
wouldn't c keep his strike points since a line being scored is the same as the majority seeing the rabbit.
__________________
DCK Labradors and Beagles
Labs-OGF Tucker
DCK Lady Antebellum
DCK Rolling Red Rock
DCK Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup
Beagles- (RIP) FC Buckeyes Big John
HBCH PCH Dry Creek Stroke Of Genius
DCK Bounty Hunter
DCK Queen Of The Cage (Rousey)
Jeremy Mapes
Jeremy Mapes,
Remember, this is just my opinion, i'm no UKC scholar but YES marking a line, agreeing to score the line, and having atleast one dog actually score it counts as the majority seeing the rabbit. BUT, to plus strikes alone majority must see the rabbit and the hounds must hole it. In this situation, there was no hole.
-Jack
__________________
Visit XDawgBeagles.com
to this point it is tricky because the guy did not say if they holed or lost their rabbit if they lost it then dog c would not get its stike but if they holed it then it would get it strike points.
Re: tough one...
quote:
Originally posted by xdawgbeagles
Alrighty.... I'll take a stab at it...
By saying A,B,C,D i'm figuring you mean 100,75,50,25
First off, B pluses Strike and Line, D pluses Strike and Line and C minuses its called position.
Rules state "score first track (one time)" the way i see it is you can only score one line. B&D covered their strike points by scoring a line and C did not. C minuses its called position because the track has ended and he didn't cover his strike points.
So after the first track:
B= +175
D= +110
C= -50
A= "PENDING"
Now the dogs (BDC) would be gathered and turned in on A's track. Although 3rd strike has been minused 4th strike is being held so each dog turned in will be struck in at 25pts each.
-Jack
__________________
Work hard and play even harder
Todd,
Todd,
As you already know.... I don't know it all...lol
Anyways, since its a split track and you have your strikes split over 2 tracks would it not be basically considered a second set of strike points by opening 2nd, 3rd, and 4th strike posistions?
I know the same 100 spot is still going, but i don't see where its fair for dog B from the first track to plus 75 and now have another chance to plus 75 more before A ever pluses his 100.
In the rules i have only found it saying posistions become available once they have been minused. In the case of split track even though they have been plussed, would they not still be considered being held (scored) under the same set of strikes? The rules say only one set of strikes.
I'm sure you can shed some light on this that will clear it up.
Thanks Man,
Jack
__________________
Visit XDawgBeagles.com
Where does it say that they split strikes?
STRIKES
__________________
Work hard and play even harder
Re: Ok, here is you a scenario.....
quote:
Originally posted by Chaffin Crank
4 dog cast. Dog A strikes in and about 1 min later dogs B,C,and D strike in 20 yards away. ***Dogs are running in 2 different directions. ******Finally a line is marked on the rabbit that B,C and D are running. Dog B scores the line first and D gets second. Dog C misses the line all together and gets no speed and drive score.
__________________
Visit XDawgBeagles.com
where does it say their STRIKES were split? Not split track
__________________
Work hard and play even harder
?
Who said there was a split strike?
I'm sayin the "ONE SET" of strike posistions is scattered out over 2 different tracks....
-Jack
__________________
Visit XDawgBeagles.com
2. POINT SYSTEM:
a. 100 points for dog that opens and is declared struck first, 75 points second, 50 points third, 25 points fourth. If a dog is turned back in on a track, he gets next available position. If all positions are taken, he gets 25 points.
When they got turned back in the only position "taken" was first.
__________________
Work hard and play even harder
thank you...
thanks you mr morgan....
thats light....
-Jack
__________________
Visit XDawgBeagles.com
Ok, my mind was doing over 100mph trying to figure anything out, so I asked everybody what to do with dog C, nobody really knew. Well I thought the dog should stay on his original track since he didn't score the line. Well we finally decided that we should pick up dog C and turn him into Dog A along with B and D. Well B and D were caught and turned in on Dog A. Dog C wasn't so easy to catch and continued running his original track and then to 2 tracks came within feet of each other and then once again we were all back on the same track...LOL (it was a mess)
Well me and another cast member thought that Dog C should be minused his stirke points for being picked up. Then it came to our attention that Dog C was never caught and leashed off his track. So we then thought that Dog C should be minused for quitting his original track. Nobody really knew what to do so we ? it and took it back to the MOH.
The MOH didn't really know so we got the rule book out and went over it...didn't really shed any light on it...and He said that Dog C should have been picked up with B and D and turned in on A eventhough he didn't score the line....What do you guys think...Is this right? I would like to find out just in case this ever happens again...(hope not) The way I understand it is once a dog scores a line on a split track he is to be turned in on other track but what if he doesn't score it and other dogs do?
line
Its not once a dog scores a line.... Its once a line is scored.... (doesn't reffer to how many dogs have to score... Just says score a line)
-Jack
__________________
Visit XDawgBeagles.com
| All times are GMT. The time now is 04:31 PM. | Show all 18 posts from this thread on one page |
Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.0
Copyright © Jelsoft Enterprises Limited 2000 - 2002.
Copyright 2003-2020, United Kennel Club