UKC Forums
Show all 15 posts from this thread on one page

UKC Forums (http://forums.ukcdogs.com/index.php)
- UKC Coonhounds (http://forums.ukcdogs.com/forumdisplay.php?forumid=4)
-- Rule 3.d ? (http://forums.ukcdogs.com/showthread.php?threadid=261895)


Posted by Amos & Buster on 03-06-2009 07:30 PM:

Rule 3.d ?

Points will be plus. Dog(s) that are shut out(not struck before first dog is declared treed) must still be declared struck. They are eligible for tree points if they are declared treed within the 5 minutes. If they are at tree shut out on when judge arrives, strike points are deleted. For all other situations they are accountable for their strike points.
Can someone please give some examples of how this rule applies to different hunt situations.
Thanks.


Posted by wabashvalleylep on 03-06-2009 07:36 PM:

if dogs end up being split treed, dog that was shut out would get strike and tree points


Posted by Amos & Buster on 03-06-2009 07:45 PM:

So in a 4 dog cast, the if dogs a, b, c strike and then tree on the same tree. Dog d would be shut out on that tree if d wasn't struck in on strike ponts before the last of the dogs a, b, or c tree ?or is it 5 minutes tree time? But d could get 25 strike and 125 tree if split?


Posted by Cody Carroll on 03-06-2009 07:49 PM:

a, b, c are struck and treed. d is shutout so he is struck with a line. d trees split so he now gets credit for his 25 strike.

__________________
Cody Carroll
(757) 755-5820

proud member of the United States Navy Submarine Force

Former home of:
GRNITECH GRCH 'PR' Hardwood Ontime Abby


Posted by Amos & Buster on 03-06-2009 09:34 PM:

Let me clear up my last post. So if dog a strikes and trees before any other dog in the cast opens on track, dog a's tree is closed to tree points. If dog b opens on track and trees on dog a's tree, a line is drawn through the strike points, how are the tree points scored? Scenerio B. dog a, b, c open on track, dog a trees. Then 5 minutes starts on the tree, b, c come to dog a's tree before 5 is up, then dog d opens on track. Does dog d have the remaining time untill the 5 min. is up to get to that tree? thanks.


Posted by Dogwhisper on 03-06-2009 09:51 PM:

Amos & Buster,

As soon as the first dog is declared treed ,the dog not declared struck in is shout out, if it trees on the same tree.

It is not "as soon as the last dog, declared treed", on the same tree.
In your example "as soon as A dog was declared treed not as soon as the last dog "C" in this case was declared treed.

Tree pts. are not closed, just strike pts.Tree pts are closed after the 5 min. has expired.The other dogs still can get piece of A trees if they get there before the 5 is up on A tree.
The tree pts are scored 125/75/50/25 in that order if they get there before the 5 min. has expired.
Scenario B yes
B and C have gotten a piece of A's tree.
D dog opened after A was treed if he gets there before the 5 min. tree time is up he'll get tree pts.
No Strike pts. he got shut out.


Posted by Amos & Buster on 03-06-2009 09:58 PM:

thanks dwhisper...but if dog d gets to the tree after 5 has expired. how do you score d's tree points? With the coon seen and without? b patient with me, just trying not to learn the hard way.


Posted by on 03-06-2009 10:07 PM:

If dog D gets to the tree after the 5 expires, he cannot be treed on that tree. You cannot tree a dog on a closed tree. In fact, if you did tree dog D, he would be put on the card as split treed for 125 and if he was on the tree that was closed, those 125 would be minused. But if dog D is just there at the closed tree without being treed, he cannot be scored for tree points and he has no strike points because he was shutout so he loses nothing and gains nothing. The one exception to that is if the tree is minused and dog D was there when the judge arrived, then dog D gets assigned next available tree postion and minused those tree points. But he cannot be minused his strike because it was shutout.

You should be totally confused by now.....LOL.


Posted by GA DAWG on 03-06-2009 11:07 PM:

If A is struck for a 100 and treed for 125..Then B is struck for 75 and dont tree with A..Then you put the 8 on dog b after scoring A's tree..Dog B cant get his strike minused!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! He was shutout....

__________________
Michael Ghorley


Posted by on 03-06-2009 11:15 PM:

Yes he can. That is the new rule that started this year. If dog B doesn't cover dog A's tree, his strike points are live and must be scored so yes, the 8 can minus him.


Posted by birddog on 03-06-2009 11:47 PM:

jim

ive been told that if a dog comes in after cast arrives at tree he can be minused his strike for quitting his track, even though he was shut out on strike, is this also true?

__________________
CodeRed Kennels (RIP)nt. ch.cold creek cody gr.nt ch.code red mr. bonehead Powered by High Standard Dogfood


Posted by Joey Donelson on 03-06-2009 11:51 PM:

Jim, I think that was a good ruling also on making the dog responsible for his strike points.


Posted by Rip on 03-07-2009 12:13 AM:

Re: jim

quote:
Originally posted by birddog
ive been told that if a dog comes in after cast arrives at tree he can be minused his strike for quitting his track, even though he was shut out on strike, is this also true?


Absolutely positively NOT.

If the dog comes in after the cast arrives the only way he can be minused is if the coon is seen and the dogs treeing are awarded plus points.

He can't even be minused for strike if he had 100 and was not shut out because the rule plainly says "NO DOG to be minused for coming to the tree after the judge arrives UNLESS COON IS SEEN AND DOGS TREEING ARE AWARDED PLUS POINTS".

No dog means no dog. It is cheating to try and minus the dog that comes in for "quitting track" as that rule doesn't apply when you have one that specifically tells you what to do when a dog comes in to a tree after the judge arrives.

__________________
Let's go huntin


Posted by djones on 03-07-2009 12:28 AM:

?

what if a dog comes in to a tree after the 5 is up and the judge is already at the tree and the dogs have a slick tail treed?


Posted by Rip on 03-07-2009 12:39 AM:

Doesn't matter, the dog can't be minused.

NO dog means NO DOG, not mine, yours or anybody elses.

No dog can be minused for coming into any tree after the judge arrives unless very specific things occur. 1. They have to see a coon. 2. The dogs there treeing have to get plus points

If that happens dogs that come in late get their strike minused.

In any other situation they get them circled. Slick, slick tail, big den or leafy tree. Whatever it is they get circled.

And, before this comes up I will answer it now, the ONLY way you can award next available tree points on anything is if it is a slick tree or off game and the dog was THERE TREEING but not declared treed WHEN THE CAST ARRIVES. It has to be there and activly treeing. If it is just there and isn't treeing then it can't be assigned tree points.

That's why a smart judge gets away from the tree when he is running the 8 on that one dog still out LOL.

__________________
Let's go huntin


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:28 AM.
Show all 15 posts from this thread on one page

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.0
Copyright © Jelsoft Enterprises Limited 2000 - 2002.
Copyright 2003-2020, United Kennel Club