UKC Forums
Show all 10 posts from this thread on one page

UKC Forums (http://forums.ukcdogs.com/index.php)
- UKC Beagles (http://forums.ukcdogs.com/forumdisplay.php?forumid=3)
-- Question... (http://forums.ukcdogs.com/showthread.php?threadid=93103)


Posted by xdawgbeagles on 04-26-2006 01:40 PM:

Question...

This was brought up to me during saturday's hunt at Nationals. I had just called a track dead (3:00) and one dog's score was 0 Plus and 120 Minus for a net of (-120) for that rabbit.

He started to explain to me its impossible to minus -120 on one rabbit. However, he was a true gentleman and nothing ever got out of hand. Actually he was a great guy.

But.... I want to know what you all think. Everything i've learned is that its not impossible..... One can actually go -120 on a single rabbit.

Thanks in advance...

-Jack

__________________
Visit XDawgBeagles.com


Posted by Robert Long on 04-26-2006 02:22 PM:

If he was the only dog struck +100 then he gos into check -20 then time runs out thats -100 and -20 thats -120 ?

__________________
Good dog's are few and far between, But true friends are once in a life time.
HOME OF TRIPLE CREEK KENNELS


Posted by Todd M / UKC on 04-26-2006 04:38 PM:

No the reply is incorrect. If only one dog is struck in and it goes into a check and then the three gets them the -20 is crossed off and the dog is minused 100 points.

Yes it is possible to -120 on a track. The only way I can think would be if more than one dog is struck in. The first struck dog and the others go into a check. Any of the dogs other than the first struck dog recover the check and are awarded 20+. From that point on I can think of several scenarios like the dog quits and comes in, misses all three lines, switches tracks on a split etc.


A dog that strikes in by himself and takes a 3 minute loss by himself without any recoveries will be minused 100 points. The check is deleted.

__________________
Work hard and play even harder


Posted by xdawgbeagles on 04-26-2006 05:36 PM:

I know of 2... But i may be wrong....

However,

In this case the dog was declared struck and went quiet.... Time was started and the dog went into check. While the dog was in check another dog was declared struck and later on the track went was declared over and both dogs were minused. The first dog stayed back his 20 and was minused 100. The second dog was only minused the 75.

The other possible way to minus 120 points on one rabbit is for the dog that struck first to quit the track (by itself, while others are still making forward progress) after the first check was recovered by another dog....

-Jack

__________________
Visit XDawgBeagles.com


Posted by dancarper on 04-27-2006 12:57 AM:

he still only goes back 100 . no check was recoverd you run seprate times on the dogs.if no forward progress was made.


Posted by hillbillykennel on 04-27-2006 01:10 AM:

I thought if another dog strikes in while a dog is in ck,he keeps his -20. I think we need to get to the bottom of this one to make sure i havent been doing this wrong.
Shawn

__________________
R.I.P HBCH CH Hillbilly Jumpn Judy I will miss you dearly


Posted by xdawgbeagles on 04-27-2006 02:22 AM:

the way i see it...

If a dog A is struck and time is started and goes into check, it goes minus 20pts.

Then dog B strikes and is declared struck before dog A makes forward progress....

Dog A stays back his 20 points because when dog B was struck its considered forward progress thus killing any chance of dog A recoverying the check.

-Jack

Keep in mind when the rule book talks of keeping seperate times its refferring to when a split track is present.

__________________
Visit XDawgBeagles.com


Posted by jerry scott on 04-27-2006 02:48 AM:

If one dog is struck then goes check -20 then one of the other dogs open and is struck that stops his clock so his -20 stays if the new clock gets both dogs they get there strikes -100 & -75. Dog A -125 dog bog B -75. If this was 3 dog cast they get -50 dog A -75 & B-50.


Posted by dancarper on 04-28-2006 03:58 AM:

the only way to minues a check is a dog to recover a check and a dog that is not struck in can't recover a check.


Posted by xdawgbeagles on 04-28-2006 11:03 AM:

Todd

Todd,

Could you explain how a dog being struck in while a previous struck dog is in check counts as foward progress thus leaving the previous struck dog back 20 with no chance to recover?

There are still some people that don't believe it...

-Jack

__________________
Visit XDawgBeagles.com


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:15 PM.
Show all 10 posts from this thread on one page

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.0
Copyright © Jelsoft Enterprises Limited 2000 - 2002.
Copyright 2003-2020, United Kennel Club