UKC Forums Pages (3): [1] 2 3 »
Show all 60 posts from this thread on one page

UKC Forums (http://forums.ukcdogs.com/index.php)
- UKC Coonhounds (http://forums.ukcdogs.com/forumdisplay.php?forumid=4)
-- Hunt ? (http://forums.ukcdogs.com/showthread.php?threadid=347652)


Posted by Adam Whitehead on 04-13-2010 02:46 AM:

Hunt ?

I love reading some of the answers you can get from here..I have a question I'd love to have "answered'.

If dog A, B, C, and D are all struck in....Dog A and D tree.....tree closes and scored.......opted to turn into B and C still on track (obviously different track).....A opens up and is struck in...D never opens.....B and C get treed and called treed....... while walking to tree (walking distance a good ways off)....dog D comes within reach of handler.....can he handle his dog?

__________________
35079 Sugar Creek Kennel
256-962-9068
"Marvel not that I said unto thee, Ye must be born again." John 3:7


Posted by john Duemmer on 04-13-2010 02:50 AM:

He can but he will be scratched if he does.

__________________
Everything that makes them a COONDOG is on the inside


Posted by barryg35 on 04-13-2010 02:51 AM:

if he does he'll be scratched

__________________
BARRY GREEN
CELL#- 205-337-5086
suthernblues@gmail.com


Posted by Adam Whitehead on 04-13-2010 02:51 AM:

you sure?
Can you show that?

__________________
35079 Sugar Creek Kennel
256-962-9068
"Marvel not that I said unto thee, Ye must be born again." John 3:7


Posted by john Duemmer on 04-13-2010 02:55 AM:

Not only handling, any encouragment or dicipline after the dog is cast can get you scratched.

__________________
Everything that makes them a COONDOG is on the inside


Posted by Adam Whitehead on 04-13-2010 03:07 AM:

There were no discipline or encouragement

__________________
35079 Sugar Creek Kennel
256-962-9068
"Marvel not that I said unto thee, Ye must be born again." John 3:7


Posted by on 04-13-2010 03:16 AM:

Read the last sentence of 4(e). That is the rule that scratches the dog in your situation if it is handled.


Posted by barryg35 on 04-13-2010 03:30 AM:

4(e) When a dog quits a trail that is being worked and comes in, he will be minused, Judges decision; or if none of the declared struck dogs open within 8 minutes, the strike will be considered finished and minused. However, if the dog goes back on the trail, he will get the next available position. Once a position has been scored it becomes available again; however, a dog cannot be struck "in" over a dog's position that is being held. (If all positions are taken, dog will receive 25 points for going back, but these points will be minused every time he comes out. He is not to be tied or encouraged to go back.)

__________________
BARRY GREEN
CELL#- 205-337-5086
suthernblues@gmail.com


Posted by Adam Whitehead on 04-13-2010 03:58 AM:

Read the ? 4e does NOT apply at all.

__________________
35079 Sugar Creek Kennel
256-962-9068
"Marvel not that I said unto thee, Ye must be born again." John 3:7


Posted by barryg35 on 04-13-2010 04:03 AM:

WAY I ALWAYS UNDERSTOOD IT AND HAVE ALWAYS BEEN TOLD. IF YOU DO ANYTHING AS FAR AS HANDLING A DOG IN A HUNT WITHOUT BEING TOLD TO BY THE JUDGE YOU CAN BE SCRATCHED

__________________
BARRY GREEN
CELL#- 205-337-5086
suthernblues@gmail.com


Posted by nccoonhunter197 on 04-13-2010 12:22 PM:

Your question is because dog D was never struck back in can it be handled? I would say that no it can't because you still have atleast one dog still open on track which is A. B and C are treed and you are on your way to their tree. A is still working on track.

__________________
"To educate a man in mind and not in morals is to educate a menace to society." -
-- Theodore Roosevelt



Brian Teague 252-649-3050


Posted by on 04-13-2010 01:25 PM:

Adam, why don't you contact UKC on this one. Several have answered that it is a scratch and have given the rule that makes it a scratch but you aren't believing anyone so why ask? Call Allen and he will quote rule 4(e) and tell you Dog D is scratched.


Posted by john Duemmer on 04-13-2010 01:42 PM:

I agree with Adam. 4e doesnt apply very well to his question in that it seems to me to refer to a dog that is carrying strike points. People always want to say show me on the card when in alot of cases there is no direct rule that applies to their situation and unless you know how UKC. has ruled on these situations in the past your lost. If UKC. would get their **** togeather and publish a new advisor and make it available to everyone without an act of congress alot of these situations would be explained, and we would not keep hearing ( I GOT CHEATED)

__________________
Everything that makes them a COONDOG is on the inside


Posted by Adam Whitehead on 04-13-2010 02:41 PM:

Actually I KNOW the answer because Mr. Gingrech did infact answer it for me. Guys I just want to be a help and that is all. You know it may happen to you one night and wouldn't you want to know the answer?

Please send more input.

__________________
35079 Sugar Creek Kennel
256-962-9068
"Marvel not that I said unto thee, Ye must be born again." John 3:7


Posted by barryg35 on 04-13-2010 02:46 PM:

quote:
Originally posted by john Duemmer
I agree with Adam. 4e doesnt apply very well to his question in that it seems to me to refer to a dog that is carrying strike points. People always want to say show me on the card when in alot of cases there is no direct rule that applies to their situation and unless you know how UKC. has ruled on these situations in the past your lost. If UKC. would get their **** togeather and publish a new advisor and make it available to everyone without an act of congress alot of these situations would be explained, and we would not keep hearing ( I GOT CHEATED)
i second that!

__________________
BARRY GREEN
CELL#- 205-337-5086
suthernblues@gmail.com


Posted by Adam Whitehead on 04-13-2010 02:51 PM:

Come on guys don't get this thread deleted, yes we copuld all do a little better, but I'll have defend UKC on this one. In particular 4e does NOT apply just look at the situation and look at the scracthable offenses. It isn't so to scratch a dog for being handled.

__________________
35079 Sugar Creek Kennel
256-962-9068
"Marvel not that I said unto thee, Ye must be born again." John 3:7


Posted by Coonie on 04-13-2010 02:58 PM:

fyi

Only if withdrew,nonworking dog time get him. If none aply he scratched. The wrighting is on the wall. JMO


Posted by on 04-13-2010 03:30 PM:

I think 4(e) does apply. The rule simply states that when a dog comes in he can't be tied (handled). Doesn't matter if the dog is struck or not. If you could handle that dog there would be no reason to have rule 6(d). Anytime the 30 minute rule was applied, you could just reach down and snap your dog breaking the 30. You can't do that because of 4(e), struck or not. And once again....it doesn't have to be under rule 6 to get you scratched. The Advisor provides a whole list of things that can get you scratchg that are not listed under rule 6. One of them is handling your dog without the judge telling you to.


Posted by K. Singletary on 04-13-2010 03:35 PM:

I think the dog is scratched because of this part of rule #1.

"All dogs, including Champions, to hunt entire hunt unless scratched. "

If you handle the dog while the clock is running the dog did not hunt the entire hunt and would be scratched.

__________________
Kenny's Allnite Black and Tans
Moncks Corner, SC
843-697-5889
ChNtCh Allnite Gypsy Girl


Posted by Larry Atherton on 04-13-2010 03:47 PM:

quote:
Originally posted by K. Singletary
I think the dog is scratched because of this part of rule #1.

"All dogs, including Champions, to hunt entire hunt unless scratched. "

If you handle the dog while the clock is running the dog did not hunt the entire hunt and would be scratched.



I second this explaination. You can not leash a dog while there are any dogs competing for points.

__________________
Larry Atherton

Aim small miss small


Posted by barryg35 on 04-13-2010 04:00 PM:

quote:
Originally posted by JiM
I think 4(e) does apply. The rule simply states that when a dog comes in he can't be tied (handled). Doesn't matter if the dog is struck or not. If you could handle that dog there would be no reason to have rule 6(d). Anytime the 30 minute rule was applied, you could just reach down and snap your dog breaking the 30. You can't do that because of 4(e), struck or not. And once again....it doesn't have to be under rule 6 to get you scratched. The Advisor provides a whole list of things that can get you scratchg that are not listed under rule 6. One of them is handling your dog without the judge telling you to.
thats why i said scratch because of jims last sentence.

rule 6. One of them is handling your dog without the judge telling you to.

__________________
BARRY GREEN
CELL#- 205-337-5086
suthernblues@gmail.com


Posted by Adam Whitehead on 04-13-2010 04:04 PM:

I love the answers, keep them coming.

Making you think, and I hope this situation doesn't happen to ya'll with some the answers that are coming forward, because the right answer (or the answer that I got from Mr. Gingrech) has not shown up yet.

__________________
35079 Sugar Creek Kennel
256-962-9068
"Marvel not that I said unto thee, Ye must be born again." John 3:7


Posted by barryg35 on 04-13-2010 04:07 PM:

hey adam check out those albino elk i posted.

__________________
BARRY GREEN
CELL#- 205-337-5086
suthernblues@gmail.com


Posted by Adam Whitehead on 04-13-2010 04:10 PM:

I'd love to see them....through some cross hairs.

__________________
35079 Sugar Creek Kennel
256-962-9068
"Marvel not that I said unto thee, Ye must be born again." John 3:7


Posted by barryg35 on 04-13-2010 04:42 PM:

yea me too.

__________________
BARRY GREEN
CELL#- 205-337-5086
suthernblues@gmail.com


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:56 PM. Pages (3): [1] 2 3 »
Show all 60 posts from this thread on one page

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.0
Copyright © Jelsoft Enterprises Limited 2000 - 2002.
Copyright 2003-2020, United Kennel Club