UKC Forums Pages (2): [1] 2 »
Show all 28 posts from this thread on one page

UKC Forums (http://forums.ukcdogs.com/index.php)
- UKC Coonhounds (http://forums.ukcdogs.com/forumdisplay.php?forumid=4)
-- Score this one (http://forums.ukcdogs.com/showthread.php?threadid=256087)


Posted by Mike Williamson on 02-10-2009 02:37 PM:

Score this one

In a three dog Cast Dogs A, B, C. All dogs are struck in Dog A is declared treed, five minutes go by and we go to dog A while walking dogs B and C come in to Dog A. When we get there Dog A is in a hole in some rocks. Coon is seen. Do dogs B and C get minused on track? or do they get their strike points, even though they weren't declared treed?


Posted by hardtymes on 02-10-2009 02:42 PM:

If the coon was seen and the (5mins was up) they get
minused track only!!!

__________________
HARDTYMES-DAVE TACKETT GRNTCH GRCH DONNA"S HARDTYMES Grntch Grch Dave&Tims Hardtymes Red TACO R.I.P.

COONHUNTER =since 1969 RETIRED>2010
<>OVER THE HILL TRAINER! !! 606-286-4690


Posted by Mike Williamson on 02-10-2009 02:49 PM:

Where does it state that? On the back of the scorecard it show different. I beleive it says dogs not declared treed are plussed their strike points


Posted by Rip on 02-10-2009 03:02 PM:

If the dogs were at the hole with the dog treed then they get their strike plused, they don't have to be treed it specifically says so in the rules.

The dog that was declared treed gets his strike AND tree plussed.

__________________
Let's go huntin


Posted by CHRIS T on 02-10-2009 04:05 PM:

4.
(d) If dog declared treed, after five minutes has elapsed no additional dog can be declared treed at that particular tree but if they come in to tree will get minus on track and nothing on tree if coon is seen.

this is out of the rule book. the card dosent have all the rules on it call ukc and get a book if i was you. and yes this rule is on the card!


Posted by on 02-10-2009 04:11 PM:

Chris, all the rules ARE on the back of the card, everyone of them. You are useing the wrong rule for this situation. The rule that would apply to this situation is rule 3(b). Dog A gets gets plussed both ways. Dogs B and C get plussed strike points if they were at the hole when the judge arrived.


Posted by Rip on 02-10-2009 04:14 PM:

quote:
Originally posted by CHRIS T
4.
(d) If dog declared treed, after five minutes has elapsed no additional dog can be declared treed at that particular tree but if they come in to tree will get minus on track and nothing on tree if coon is seen.

this is out of the rule book. the card dosent have all the rules on it call ukc and get a book if i was you. and yes this rule is on the card!



And you would be quoting and using the wrong rule for this situation.

Here's the rule you use.

"3(b) When dog is declared struck and treed and coon is seen other than in tree, dog declared treed to receive strike and tree points. Dogs not declared treed, strike points only. If dog catches coon, strike points only."

You can't use "quitting the track" or "shut out on tree" or any other slick handler trick because there is a specific rule for that situation that tells you EXACTLY how to score it.


Dogs do NOT have to be declared treed at a hole in the ground, if they are there and coon is seen their strike is plussed, they don't have to tree in the ground. By the same token, any dog declared treed has both his strike and tree scored.

You don't even have to tree ANY dog to go score a hole. You as a cast can decide that it is likely a hole in the ground and go see. If it is a hole all dogs around the hole have their strike points scored accordingly.

__________________
Let's go huntin


Posted by hardtymes on 02-10-2009 05:03 PM:

YEA YOUR ARE RIGHT<BUT THOUGHT THE 5 MINS WAS UP
AND THE TREE OR HOLE WAS DEAD,AND THE DOG CAME WAKIN IN WITH YOU!!!!!!!!

__________________
HARDTYMES-DAVE TACKETT GRNTCH GRCH DONNA"S HARDTYMES Grntch Grch Dave&Tims Hardtymes Red TACO R.I.P.

COONHUNTER =since 1969 RETIRED>2010
<>OVER THE HILL TRAINER! !! 606-286-4690


Posted by josh on 02-10-2009 05:22 PM:

I dont think a hole or a caught coon is ever considered "dead".

Dogs that are there get stike plused...Somtimes undeservingly so, but those are the breaks.


Posted by Laura Bell on 02-10-2009 07:01 PM:

Because it was a hole B & C get credit for showing up.

__________________
<COONHOUND BLOODLINES MAGAZINE WRITER>
Subscribe to CB Today!
*************


Posted by CHRIS T on 02-10-2009 07:39 PM:

im sorry i read that wrong i thought that they were at the hole or tree and the dogs come in to them.

and i dont think that a hole or a tree can be scored the same as a cought coon.

and y cant a hole be dead after the 5 it is the same as a tree a place of refuge. i think that you get +strike and tree if you see a coon in a hole if the dogs get one cought on the groung it is just +strike points. i havent be in the hunts for 2 years so im kinda rusty


Posted by GA DAWG on 02-10-2009 11:01 PM:

Its a stupid rule..They should be minused..Specially coming in after the 5.


Posted by on 02-10-2009 11:57 PM:

I think the reason you can't minus the late comers is because you are not required to run the 5 in this situation. The reason you aren't required to run the 5 is because you can score a hole without treeing any dog. Purty hard to minus a dog for coming in after the 5 when you don't even have to run the 5.


Posted by GA DAWG on 02-11-2009 12:01 AM:

quote:
Originally posted by JiM
I think the reason you can't minus the late comers is because you are not required to run the 5 in this situation. The reason you aren't required to run the 5 is because you can score a hole without treeing any dog. Purty hard to minus a dog for coming in after the 5 when you don't even have to run the 5.
What if they come into a hole after the judge arrives?


Posted by on 02-11-2009 12:14 AM:

Darn good question.


Posted by blairforce1 on 02-11-2009 12:20 AM:

I think they would be minus on strike , IF they came in to you after you were at the hole, for quitting thier track...


Jim


Posted by Rip on 02-11-2009 12:26 AM:

I think they would get plussed. The rule don't say when they come in, and you can't make a hole "dead" because you don't run the 5 on it, it's not needed.

So, since you don't have to run the 5 then any time they get there they would be scored according to what was in hole.

The rule is specific, if a dog is seen at a hole with a coon in it you plus his strike or both if called (the thing is after the dog is called tree rules apply FOR THAT DOG, but the others if not called treed still get scored just for being at or coming into the hole.

__________________
Let's go huntin


Posted by on 02-11-2009 01:35 AM:

You may be right Rip, prolly are but I think the average cast would have a major problem with a dog walking into a coon in a hole, after the cast has scored it, and getting plussed strike points. I think most would minus that dogs strike.


Posted by brittanernst on 02-11-2009 01:41 AM:

I think that you get your strike points and thats it.

__________________
CH 'PR' Ernsts Lacey
CH 'PR' Dutch Hill's Smokin Gun
'PR' Dutch Hill's Bawlin Bullet
Brittan Ernst


Posted by hardtymes on 02-11-2009 02:19 AM:

WHERES ALLEN G.

__________________
HARDTYMES-DAVE TACKETT GRNTCH GRCH DONNA"S HARDTYMES Grntch Grch Dave&Tims Hardtymes Red TACO R.I.P.

COONHUNTER =since 1969 RETIRED>2010
<>OVER THE HILL TRAINER! !! 606-286-4690


Posted by Rip on 02-11-2009 02:30 AM:

I was basing my logic on the rules as they are actually written.

I didn't say I agreed with it, just that since you don't run the 5, and the rules plainly say any dog in the vicinity get plussed their strike then you would have to plus it no matter if they came in "late" or not because there can be no "late" if you don't have to run the 5 minute clock(which you don't because you don't even have to tree a dog to score a hole). The rules also have a special provision for dogs called treed, tree rules apply, but not for the rest of the dogs not called treed, therefore there is no "dead" hole.

It's not unlike the old "no strike points to minus" on dogs that came in after being shut out on strike.

That said, UKC could have an advisor I am unaware of that says a hole is dead after you get there, just haven't seen it.

If not Allen or Todd could make that ruling right now and fix it (if they wanted to) but I would think it would have to be put in the Advisor because I can't find a way to get around rule 3b with the way the rules are written. That means until there is an official interpretation otherwise late dogs can still get strike plussed (if they haven't slipped one in on me LOL).

__________________
Let's go huntin


Posted by on 02-11-2009 03:09 AM:

You are prolly right, just saying I would not want to be the judge that had to explain that one, especially if it was MY dog coming in late.
But I can't find anything in the rules to dispute you.


Posted by Related on 02-11-2009 03:11 AM:

dog a plus on both ends

b and c strike points are plus


Posted by Mike Williamson on 02-11-2009 01:28 PM:

We scored the tree according to the rule that states Dog A was plus strike and tree and dogs B and C were plus on their strike points. I don't agree with this because they came into dog A after the five was up and a coon was seen. I actually had the judge point it out to me and he did. Didn't make a difference in the cst was just a situation that arose on Saturday night and wanted to make sure it was scored right.


Posted by Rip on 02-11-2009 01:36 PM:

Even if they changed it to minus dogs that got there after the judge arrived it wouldn't have changed the way your cast was scored cause if I understand it those dogs were there BEFORE the judge arrived.

The 5 don't count once you get there and see it's a hole it's automatic that all dogs there get their strike scored accordingly. Only one dog out of the whole bunch has to show the hole.

What this question has morphed into is what to do if a dog comes meandering in AFTER the judge arrives and you are in the process of scoring the hole.

The problem with that is that according to the way the rules are written even one coming in that late would have to have his strike eligible for scoring since 3b doesn't put a time on it, and the 5 is invalid so you can't really "close" a hole.

All our rule threads seem to do this LOL. We start out with one question and after it's answered someone says "what if this" and we are off again. It can get a mite confusin as to which scenario one is referring to.

__________________
Let's go huntin


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:00 PM. Pages (2): [1] 2 »
Show all 28 posts from this thread on one page

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.0
Copyright © Jelsoft Enterprises Limited 2000 - 2002.
Copyright 2003-2020, United Kennel Club